Very Lemon Chicken

My husband is such a nice guy.  He bought me a crock pot cookbook for Christmas.  Just what I always wanted in my stocking.  (Can you hear the sarcasm?)  Really, though, it does give me a nice place to start.  So today, I decided to try making Very Lemon Chicken from The $7 a Meal Slow Cooker Cookbook.  Here’s the recipe:

1 1/2 pounds chicken parts, skinned                         1/2 t dried oregano leaves

2 T olive oil                                                                           1 onion, chopped

1/3 c lemon juice                                                               1/2 t salt

2 T vinegar                                                                            1/8 t white pepper

1 c chicken stock                                                                1/2 t paprika

2 T slivered lemon zest                                                   2 T cornstarch

1/2 c sour cream

1. Place chicken in 3 quart slow cooker.  In small bowl, combine olive oil, lemon juice, vinegar, stock, lemon zest, oregano, onion, salt, pepper, and paprika.  Mix well.  Pour over the chicken, cover, and cook for 8-9 hours.

2. In small bowl combine corn starch and sour cream; mix well.  Add to slow cooker and stir. Cover and cook on high for 20-30 minutes or until sauce is thickened.  Serve immediately.

And that’s it.  Looks easy, should be no problems, right?

Well, on the plus side, I did not have to touch the raw chicken (yay!).  I just slid it into the slow cooker.  Though, I really have no idea how much 1 1/2 pounds is.  It came in a 3 pound pack, so I just estimated.  That’s what a real cook would do – I told myself that, anyways.

Oil, juice, stock, spices – easy!  Vinegar…hmmm.  Could we be more specific?  I found rice wine vinegar, apple cider vinegar, red wine vinegar, white vinegar, balsamic vinegar, and more in my cupboards (my husband apparently has a vinegar fetish).  The apple cider one had the label The natural choice for food.  And hey, I’m making food, so I went with that one.

And I only zested off a tiny bit of my thumb.

Then the dreaded onion.  Good news, no hand slicing.  Bad news, really really really big onion chunks.  Oh well, it’ll cook down.  Right?

(By the way, this easy prep took me well over 45 minutes to complete.  That’s how challenged I am.  Just sayin’.)

It’s all in the pot for now and smells good…