If it ain’t broke, why fix it?

Hubby and I have had this debate many, many times.

As I have mentioned on numerous occasions, he is a spectacular cook.  Some of his dishes should win awards – seriously.

But he is never satisfied.  After he’s made something, and it is the best, the next time he makes it, he changes or tweaks the recipe.  And a lot of times it makes the food not nearly as good as before.

He believes everything can be improved upon– and I believe that if you’ve found something amazing, hold on to it just as it is.

Case in point, for my birthday this year, he offered to make whatever cake I wanted.  I chose a scrumptious yellow cake with chocolate fudge ganache frosting that he’d made previously.  I was literally salivating thinking about this yummy, soft, perfectly buttery cake. 

When it came time for the eating, though, I found out he’d changed the cake recipe — and added an espresso cream filling.  Yes, it still sounded good, but it wasn’t what I’d asked for.  I was still optimistic, but when I went to take a bite, it wasn’t even close to what it had been. 

And then, since he’d slaved away on it for hours, I felt like I couldn’t complain.  (And it really was nice of him to work so hard on it.)  Am I ungrateful?  No, but I just wanted what I wanted.

Hubby does this a lot.  And now he’s always giving me helpful advice about how I can improve my dishes.

But to be honest, with a couple of them, I’m not going to change a thing (the stew and lemon chicken are absolutely perfect as they are).

Who do you think is right?

I’m really curious.  Thanks.

4 thoughts on “If it ain’t broke, why fix it?

  1. Courtney I am with you, don’t fix perfection. I am a stickler for tradition and like the perfect Thanksgiving recipes we have spend years working on must be exactly the same each year. We add new recipes but the old ones have to be the same.
    Happy B-day! Kate

    Like

  2. Courtney – I’m with you. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with trying to mix up a recipe once in a while (although I usually do this only when I’m missing ingredients and don’t want to go shopping), but when you are asking for a certain thing, you should get it!

    P.S. Nice blog! I just linked here from your weekly menu at This Week For Dinner. Thought I’m not a mama, I too am on a journey to become a better cook and a better all around home maker. Keep up the good work!

    Like

Comments make me happy.

