Baked Brown Rice

So, my wonderful husband thinks that my chicken dish (still cooking in the pot) will not be enough to make a full meal. 

(Sidenote, he also informed me that 1 1/2 pounds of chicken should be 4 or 5 pieces – not the 3 I used.  Ooops – I thought there was a lot more liquid in there than I needed.  This is what happens when I try to get a hold of him and he’s in a *meeting* and can’t answer my extremely important questions.)

He’s suggested brown rice and even found me a recipe online listed as easy.  I will have to have my timing down to do it since I need to have it in the oven about an hour before my chicken is finished.  Here it is:

Alton Brown’s Baked Brown Rice:

1 1/2 cups brown rice medium or short grain

2 1/2 cups water

1 tablespoon unsalted butter

1 teaspoon kosher salt

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

Place the rice into an 8-inch square glass baking dish.

Bring the water, butter, and salt just to a boil in a kettle or covered saucepan.  Once the water boils, pour it over the rice, stir to combine, and cover the dish tightly with heavy-duty aluminum foil. Bake on the middle rack of the oven for 1 hour.

After 1 hour, remove cover and fluff the rice with a fork. Serve immediately.

Okay.  I think I can do this.  I’ll let you know this evening how everything turns out!

Comments make me happy.

