Cheater Cookies: No-Bake Chocolate Oatmeal Drops

I was craving chocolate something fierce last night.

And it was after 7, which I have learned is the magic witching hour for not baking something – if any of my previous later night baking posts have proven.  But I really, really wanted something chocolately.

And then I remembered a recipe that we used to make when I was growing up.  It was easy, fast, no-bake, and most importantly pretty much impossible to mess up.  (Because, as a teenager, I inadvertently tried to mess it up, but it still worked).

And the ingredients and amounts were still sitting around in my head.

(You’d think that’d be amazing, but we made these at least once a month all through my teenage years.)

The Recipe:

No-Bake Chocolate Oatmeal Drops, from I have no idea

1 stick butter

2 c sugar

1/2 c milk

4 T cocoa powder

2-3 big spoonfuls of peanut butter

splash of vanilla

3 c oatmeal, give or take, depending on how it sets up

Heat butter, sugar, milk, and cocoa in large saucepan.  Bring to roiling boil and let boil for about one minute.  Add peanut butter and stir until melted.  Add vanilla and oatmeal.  Stir until pretty thick.  Drop by heaping spoonful onto wax or parchment paper.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

That whole 10 minutes of work was well worth it.

(I apologize in advance for the picture quality – not much natural light when I took these.)

Make sure you keep stirring while it boils – it can stick.  But you do get to smell the wafting chocolate which is a great side benefit.

You want the oats to be barely, completely coated – which means you may have to add a little more.

Cruddy lighting – but at least you can see the crazy chocolate mountain shapes you get.  They set pretty quickly and are ready to eat in minutes.

Not the most amazing, delicious food – but not bad at all – and will do in a pinch!

8 thoughts on “Cheater Cookies: No-Bake Chocolate Oatmeal Drops

  1. I have not made those in years! Those were our go to treats when you were young..quick, easy, tasty…perfect for our busy family. I cannot believe you still remember the recipe!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Dark Chocolate Souffle Cake « Misadventures in Cooking

  3. Pingback: Dark Chocolate Macaroons « Misadventures in Cooking

Comments make me happy.

