Hawaiian Bread

Hi, my name is Courtney, and I think I’m addicted to making bread.

It’s been about 15 hours since my last hit.

I don’t think I’ll ever earn my pin for one month bread-baking free.  Because I just can’t help myself.

It’s the yeasty warm smell that wafts through the entire house.  It’s the sight of those golden loaves cooling on racks, just begging to be sliced.  It’s the taste of the buttery, soft, chewy, melt-in-your mouth bites that do me in.

My hands are shaking just thinking about it.

To try and stave off the craving, I’ll tell you about my latest venture.

The Recipe:

King’s Hawaiian Bread Copycat, adapted from Food.com

3 eggs

2 c pineapple juice

3/4 c sugar

1/2 t ginger

1 t vanilla

4 1/2 t yeast (2 envelopes)

1/2 c butter (one stick)

6 1/2 + cups all-purpose flour, divided

Beat the eggs.  Add the pineapple juice, sugar, ginger, vanilla, and butter.

Place 3 cups of flour in a large bowl. Stir in the egg mixture until well-combined.  Sprinkle in the yeast and mix.

Add the remaining 3 cups of flour and mix in . Blending with a spoon will be hard, so you may have to use your hands. Make sure it is thoroughly combined. Cover the bowl with a cloth and set in a warm place to rise for 1 hour.

Remove from the bowl and knead in 1/2 cup flour. Knead about 10 times.

Place in greased and floured loaf pans or shape into rolls. Cover and place in a warm place to rise for 1 hour.

Bake loaves at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes or golden brown.  Bake rolls at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes or until golden brown.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

Ummm, if you couldn’t tell from my opening, it kinda went well.  Not perfect, of course, but pretty darn good.

I had a higher purpose in making some Hawaiian rolls (but you’ll have to read about that later this week), so I was on a mission.  But after forming twelve tasty-looking rolls, I realized I had a whole ‘nother loaf’s worth of bread.  What’s a girl to do?

So I made both rolls and bread.

I think it was a good compromise.

I love how the rolls look like they’re kissing in this picture:

The bread ended up having great flavor, but a little under-done on one side – which I fully blame on our oven.  It’s suddenly decided to not cook evenly anymore.  Grrrr.  But I discovered this before I baked the rolls, so I knew to rotate them halfway through.

And that’s good because the rolls have a higher purpose.

The bread, though, that’s just for fun.  And eating.

Just that little tiny part at the top left that still was a bit doughy.

But seriously, it tastes just like King’s Hawaiian rolls.

A tasty, almost dessert-like bread.

Perfect for an addict like me.

11 thoughts on “Hawaiian Bread

  1. Pingback: Grilled Chicken Sliders with Roasted Tomatoes and Mozzarella « Misadventures in Cooking

  2. I love Food.com ~ I didn’t even think of searching for a copycat recipe of Hawaiian bread and I love it (as well as copycat recipes – Food.com has tons of great ones!)

    Stopping by from Tasty Tues (FTLOB)

    Like

  3. Hi Courtney,
    Oh my goodness that bread looks so good I can almost smell it or even better taste it. I will just have to make this recipe it looks so good! Thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday and hope you are having a great week!
    Come Back Soon,
    Miz Helen

    Like

Comments make me happy.

