Coconut Chocolate Chip Cupcakes with Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

I am such a slacker, I know.

I haven’t abandoned you all, I promise.  I just needed a little break.

There are lots of excuses I could use (like HOT weather – aka a whole week over 80 degrees {I do live in the NW and for us, that is downright blazing!}, or a sick child, or just having a busy life), but I won’t.

You probably don’t want to hear it, anyways.

You’d rather hear about the cupcakes.

I don’t blame you.

The Recipes:

Coconut Chocolate Chip Cupcakes, adapted from Calamity Kate’s Kitchen (who adapted from Miss Martha Stewart)

1 3/4 c all-purpose flour

2 t baking powder

1/2 t salt

1/2 c packed sweetened coconut

3/4 c (1  1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature

1 1/3 c sugar

2 large whole eggs plus 2 egg whites, room temperature

1 t vanilla extract

3/4 c unsweetened coconut milk

6 oz (1/2 bag) semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350°F.  Line standard muffin tins with paper liners.  Whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt.  Pulse shredded coconut in a food processor until finally ground and whisk into flour mixture.

In mixer, cream butter and sugar until pale and fluffy. Gradually beat in whole eggs, egg whites, and vanilla, scraping down sides of bowl as needed. Reduce speed to low.

Add flour mixture in three batches alternating with two additions of coconut milk, and beating until combined after each.

Divide batter evenly among lined cups filling each 3/4 full. Bake, rotating tins halfway through until toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, about 20 minutes.

Remove from the oven. Turn out cupcakes on to wire racks and let cool completely. Cupcakes can be stored overnight at room temperature or frozen up to two months in an airtight container.

Chocolate Buttercream Frosting, adapted from Savory Sweet Life

1 c unsalted butter (2 sticks or 1/2 pound), softened (but not melted!)

~ 3  c powdered sugar

1/2 c cocoa powder

1/2 t table salt

2 t vanilla extract

4 T half n half

Cream butter for a few minutes in a mixer with the paddle attachment on medium speed.  Turn off the mixer.  Sift 3 cups powdered sugar and cocoa into the mixing bowl.  Turn your mixer on the lowest speed (so the dry ingredients do not blow everywhere) until the sugar and cocoa are absorbed by the butter.  Increase mixer speed to medium and add vanilla extract, salt, and half n half and beat for 3 minutes.

If your frosting needs a more stiff consistency, add a little more sugar.  If your frosting needs to be thinned out, add additional milk 1 tablespoon at a time.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

Divine.  Absolutely divine.

But I will get back to that in a minute because, of course, not all went smoothly.

Let’s see… Mistake numero uno:  Make sure you have all ingredients and tools you may need to make a recipe before you begin.  (And than means MEASURING!)  So, I was pretty sure I had enough sugar to make the cupcakes when I originally glanced at the sugar container.  Unfortunately I was about 1/3 c short – and none of my neighbors were home to lend a little.  I was lucky enough to have sugar cubes for coffee in the morning, so I got to take out my latent anger out on the little guys.  (While making a huge mess, I might add.)  But it worked.

Mistake numero dos:  Make sure you have all ingredients and tools you may need to make a recipe before you begin.  The whole room temperature thing for the eggs and butter can take a while.  And, perhaps, if you’re not really a patient person, you might just put everything together a bit early and your batter might be a tad lumpy with butter tidbits.   But it seemed to work itself out in the baking process.

Mistake numero tres: Make sure you have all ingredients and tools you may need to make a recipe before you begin.  (Sound familiar??)  Ummm, I kinda forgot I had pretty much destroyed and then tossed our muffin pan from this lovely experience.  I didn’t realize this until after I had already mixed the batter.  One quick trip to our local grocery store and 3 small aluminum muffin pans later, I was finally ready to go.

Don't you love my upscale pans?

The smell was amazing.  Literally mouth-watering and very buttery.

It was so hard waiting for them to cool down – so I could make frosting, frost, and then, of course, devour!

The frosting wasn’t too bad – I was a lot more careful to make sure the butter was at room temperature, so I set the sticks on the edge of the stove while it cooled.  But then they melted a tad.  Oops, again.  But they were mostly at room temp, so the frosting actually worked.  Hallelujah!

I couldn’t decide which picture I liked best, so you get to see both.

These tasted as good as they looked, maybe even better.  Keep in mind these are extremely rich – especially with the chocolate frosting.  My only disappointment was that the cupcakes weren’t as coconut-ty as I expected, but they weren’t supposed be served with chocolate chips and chocolate frosting, so my bad.

I think next time, I’ll try the cupcakes as the lovely Calamity Kate suggested, with coconut frosting.

In my opinion, you can’t go wrong either way.

Enjoy.

8 thoughts on “Coconut Chocolate Chip Cupcakes with Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

  1. I just love the Coconut and Chocolate Chip combination for this great cupcake. It looks delicious. Hope you are having a great week end and thanks so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday.
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

    Like

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Coconut Cookie Bars « Misadventures in Cooking

Comments make me happy.

