Gluten Free Breakfast Casserole

I escaped this weekend.

Away from putting everyone’s needs ahead of my own.

Away from early mornings and constant chaos.

Away from checking off my list of a hundred things to do.

Away to just be me – with a bunch of positive, intelligent, crazy-fun, supportive gals.

This weekend was my book club’s first ever overnight getaway.  We met up at a gorgeous cabin in the mountains, surrounded by snow, and right next to a gorgeous serene lake.  We played games, discussed life, drank a tad, and ate a whole bunch.

(It was heaven.)

That’s where this recipe comes in.  I was partially in charge of our breakfast Sunday morning, and I was really excited to find this casserole that fit the bill for the food sensitivities in the group.  Plus I was relieved to see how easy it was – since I still get very nervous cooking in front of and for other people besides my family (and I wanted to be sure I could still make it if I was, um, perhaps a tad ‘under the weather’ in the morning).

It was exactly what I was looking for.

The Recipe:

Impossibly Easy Breakfast Bake (Gluten Free*), adapted from BettyCrocker.com

2 packages (10 oz each) pre-cooked all natural sausage (gluten-free)

1 medium red bell pepper, chopped

1 medium onion, chopped

3 c frozen hash brown potatoes (gluten-free)

10 oz shredded cheddar cheese

3/4 c Bisquick® Gluten Free mix

2 c milk

6 eggs

salt and pepper to taste

*You can only guarantee a full gluten-free meal if all ingredients are gluten-free.*

Heat oven to 400°F.   Spray 13×9 inch (3-quart) baking dish with cooking spray.

In skillet, cook bell pepper and onion over medium heat, stirring occasionally.  When onions begin to turn translucent, add sausage.  Cook for another 3 minutes.

Mix sausage mixture, potatoes and 1 1/2 c of the cheese in baking dish.

In medium bowl, stir Bisquick mix, milk, eggs, salt and pepper until blended. Pour over sausage mixture in baking dish.

Bake 30 to 35 minutes or until knife inserted in center comes out clean. Sprinkle with remaining cheese. Bake another 3 minutes or until cheese is melted. Let stand 5 minutes before serving.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

Half the fun of making this meal was the conversations had while actually cooking.  One of my friends was my sous-chef, and she chopped up the veggies while I worked on some of the other (minimal) prep work.  We just chatted away while doing our parts of the recipe.  This only confirmed my belief that cooking can really bring people together when they’re in the kitchen, helping each other out.

I did have a minor mess up (from skimming, of course!), and I added the frozen hashbrowns to the egg mixture, but alas, all turned out well.

I was so busy chatting, cooking, and serving that I really didn’t take any good pictures.  So here is the one from the Betty Crocker website.  (Mine looked exactly like it.  😉  Well, pretty close at least.)

I wish I could take pictures this good.

I finally remembered to take a picture at the very end of the meal.

If this picture tells any story, it would be that the casserole was pretty darn tasty.   It was a typical egg/sausage bake – but I loved the sweet red bell peppers throughout.  I got several compliments which made me feel good – and I was glad that it was truly gluten-free this time (unlike my attempt at gluten-free cookies in December).

Besides the good food, friends, and fun, the best part was how refreshed I felt returning home.  I was so happy to see my family and ready to tackle whatever comes my way.

Now I just gotta figure out how to plan a weekend away more often.

15 thoughts on “Gluten Free Breakfast Casserole

  1. Yes, I can attest to all of this! It was so delicious, I plan to make it one of these days! And the weekend away was a complete success and very refreshing. Put me in a much better mood when dealing with my darling children:) Now if we could find a way to do it more often!! By the way, thanks for making the breakfast gf so I could enjoy it:)

    Like

  2. That breakfast casserole looks amazing. I think my whole family would enjoy that. I might have to make this during a family gathering. That just looks so good. And I am so happy that you escaped for awhile. I think every person needs that at least once a month. Happy to hear you enjoyed every bit of it 🙂

    Like

  3. Your weekend sounds wonderful! So glad you were able to have some time away with the gals and have a little fun! This breakfast looks delicious, too. I will have to add it to my list of meals to try. I’m having a hard time finding gluten-free recipes I want to make but this looks soooooooo good!

    Like

  4. I would absolutely love a weekend like that! It sounds like so much fun and so relaxing. 🙂 And what a great casserole. I bet it’s even helpful when you’re feeling “under the weather.” 😉

    Like

  5. Sounds like a really fun weekend! And breakfast seemed like a success! It says a lot when the dish is pretty much wiped clean 🙂 Love how you made it gluten-free, too. Always nice to have gluten-free options, especially when cooking for a crowd

    Like

  6. I have to agree, it was delicious and I will be making it soon as well. I hope that we have a chance to escape again in the near future. I had an amazing time as well and felt so refreshed coming back! Good work Q. 🙂

    Like

  7. I am so happy for you that you got some needed fun and time off from being a mom. I love girls’ weekends. My friends are always a welcome reprieve from stress of daily life. This casserole looks fabulous and my family would love it! Photos make me crazy. I try to get good lighting to start with and that’s not always possible. Then I try to see what other people have done with a similar thing that I cooked. I Google Image it and look at the various photos. Then I try to use some of their ideas and set up my photo. I am terrible at it! Lucky for me, my daughter is very artistic and loves photography and my husband is a graphic artist. He always rearranges my shot and makes it look light years better than the way I was first going at it. Your photos have consistently gotten better and better and I always think they’re great! We are always hardest on ourselves.

    Like

  8. Lucky you, glad that you got a chance to get away and have some fun. This looks so easy and colorful too, not to mention it has all the food groups too! I hope you feel better, that was me last weekend and now I’m trying to play catch up! Stay rested! 🙂

    Like

  9. Your GF Breakfast Casserole looks so pretty. It is a great recipe and the GF Bisquick is wonderful! Hope you are having a great week end and thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday.
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

    Like

  10. Pingback: An Easter Parade…Foodie Style! « Sweet And Crumby

  11. Pingback: Monday Motivation – December 3rd | Four Fit Sisters

Comments make me happy.

