White Bean and Chicken Chili

I’m a cheater.

Yep.  At least I’ll admit it.

I’ve cooked this recipe before.  (Back during one of my previous attempts to become a better cook.)

It’s a really great recipe from my friend Val at Val’s Gluten Free Favorites… so since I’ve done it before, I decided to tweak the recipe to my (and my family’s) tastes.  Yes, this will be my first time varying from a recipe.  We like our chili pretty hardy and with lots of spice, so I followed Val’s suggestions and added/altered to make that happen (and we don’t have to worry about gluten-free ingredients, so it makes it a little easier).

Here’s my version (the original you can find on the link above):

The Recipe:

1 T olive oil

3 whole chicken breasts

salt & pepper to taste

2 onions, chopped

5 cloves garlic, chopped

2- 4oz cans roasted green chilies, drained  

1 1/2 T ground cumin

1 T chili powder

3- 15 oz cans white beans, rinsed & drained 

3 c chicken broth

1. Warm oil in a skillet over medium heat. Saute onions & garlic for 5 minutes. 

2. Add onions & garlic into crock pot. 

3. Add chilies, cumin, chili powder, chicken, beans, & broth.

4. Cover and cook on low for 6 hours, stirring on occasion. 

5. Shred chicken with a fork.

6. Add salt & pepper to taste.

The Results:

I swear every recipe I like has onions in it.  This, of course, was no exception.  I really wish I’d taken pictures of the cut onions the first time I made this chili, because, if I do say so myself, I am definitely getting better with my knife skills.  (Though maybe not with my capacity estimation – this pan was a bit full…and I still had another onion to add.)

not perfect, but definitely improving

(Oh, and a side note question – why do some onions make you cry like a hysterical baby and others don’t??  I had two yellow onions, from the same store, same place, same day.  The first one I cut no problem, and the second one I had to cut in four shifts because I couldn’t see any more.  Please explain.  Anyone?)

To add to making this recipe a bit more challenging, my lovely twelve month old decided to wake up and be hungry – right then! – for breakfast.  So I fed him as I cut onions, heated them, and added all the ingredients to the crock pot. 

I would just like to see Hubby try feeding a baby/toddler while cooking!  It adds a whole new dimension to the process, let me tell you.

My little helper (images may be altered to protect the innocent)

And that was it, for most of the day.  A little over six hours later, I shredded the chicken, and we were ready to eat.

I topped it off with sour cream, jack cheese, and some fresh-cut cilantro.

Sooo good!

Three out of four family members agreed (my four-year old is way too picky and he doesn’t really count) that it was delicious.

Hubby was even quoted as saying, “This is so good, I could swim in it.”

I concur.

8 thoughts on “White Bean and Chicken Chili

  1. Love it! I like it thicker and usually leave out a lot of the liquid. Kevin likes it with cheese and sour cream, all you lucky ducks that can handle dairy:) Love the cilantro idea, I’ll have to try that!!! Way to go on venturing out, look at you Chef Courtney!

    Like

  2. You take some GORGEOUS pictures! I’m not a big fan of chili, but man. My brothers consume that in a second. I think they’re gonna die when I make something as delicious as this 😀

    Like

  3. Pingback: Banana Chocolate Chip Coffee Cake « Misadventures in Cooking

Comments make me happy.

