Toasted Coconut Pound Cake

We all have recipes we make, and we end up liking them.

We use words to describe them like tasty, delicious, and yummy.

But once the dish/food is gone, we don’t think about them or make them ever again.

This is NOT one of those recipes…

I was so excited to get a quiet and mostly empty house this weekend (boys outside playing and the lady napping upstairs). Even luckier was the fact that the morning was cool enough to risk heating up the oven. So, I pulled up my trusty Pinterest Recipe board, checked my ingredients in the house, and went to work on a recipe all for me.

The Recipe:

Toasted Coconut Pound Cake, adapted very slightly from Little Bits of 

3/4 c unsalted butter, room temperature

2 c all-purpose flour, plus more for pan

1 1/2 t baking powder

1/2 t salt

1 c sugar

1 t vanilla extract

3 large eggs

1 c buttermilk

1 1/4 c sweetened flaked coconut, toasted

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a loaf pan. Whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt. In a large mixing bowl with paddle attachment, beat butter and granulated sugar on medium-high until light and fluffy, scraping down bowl as needed. Add vanilla, then eggs, one at a time, beating well and scraping down bowl. With mixer on low, add flour mixture in 3 additions, alternating with two 1/2-cup additions buttermilk, and beat until combined. With a rubber spatula, fold in 1 1/4 cups coconut.

Transfer batter to pan and bake until a toothpick inserted in center comes out with a few moist crumbs attached, about 60 minutes. Let cool in pan the remove cake from pan and let cool completely on rack.

Tips and Tricks:

(I’m adding this section when I think of something helpful for you novice cooks out there – as there are things that I didn’t know when I first started cooking that I wish someone would’ve explained to me. For all you experienced cooks, please feel free to skip this part.)

If you don’t have buttermilk: take a Tablespoon of lemon juice or vinegar and place in 1 cup measuring cup.  Add regular milk to the 1 cup mark and let sit for 5-10 minutes.  Substitute exactly for buttermilk.

To toast coconut: Preheat oven to 350.  Spread coconut out on a cookie sheet.  Place in oven and let toast for about 10 minutes, flipping and stirring coconut as needed.  Remove when most coconut is a golden brown color.

The Results:

Oh. My. Goodness. This was an amazing pound cake. Seriously amazing.

(I’m not lying when I say I actually had a dream about it.)

(And ‘was’ is the operative word.  It did not last long.)

IMG_4284

The cake itself is buttery, soft, and moist. The coconut is crispy, fresh, and adds a perfect depth of flavor.  

I really did not want to share with the rest of the family, but figured it probably wouldn’t be too good for me to finish it up by myself. Hubs completely agreed, and all the kids kept asking for it as their dessert, snack, breakfast, or whatever they could have it for.

IMG_4288

This recipe will definitely be made again. And again.

(I’m trying to decide if adding chocolate chips will be too much, or if it’s perfect how it is. I’ll keep you posted.)

8 thoughts on “Toasted Coconut Pound Cake

  1. It looks like a light and refreshing cake. Coconut has a way of making anything taste light and refreshing doesn’t it with it’s hints of summer and the tropics. Wonderful. Glad you got a few moments to cook for yourself. That’s always a rare treat! 🙂

    Like

  2. I think your coconut cake looks perfect just the way it is. I remember the days of having to wait until the kids went down for a nap to get anything done and it was crazy on the weekend. However, I could go back and do it all over again, I would in a heart beat as this time goes by so fast. Take care, BAM

    Like

Comments make me happy.

