Strawberry Muffins

I have elite and discerning tastes.

(I mean, couldn’t you tell from my Disney Junior recipe.)

So maybe that’s a bit of a stretch, right now, with three littles running around.  I’ve learned that to be able to actually make something, I need to get their buy-in.  So that they: 1. Let me have the time to make it – and 2. Actually eat it after the fact.

The easiest way to do this is to let them pick the recipe.

That’s what happened this week.  I let my middle (chef-baker-wannabe) pick out anything he wanted for us to make.  He went to his trusty kids cookbook and picked one right out.

Let’s just say that today’s recipe is brought to you by the Letter S.

(Oh, how times have changed.)

The Recipe:

Strawberry Muffinsadapted from Abby Cadabby’s Disappearing Strawberry Muffins

1 1/2 c flour

1/3 c sugar

1/4 c cornmeal

1 t baking powder

1/2 t baking soda

1/4 t salt

1 c low-fat strawberry yogurt

1/3 c oil

1 large egg

2 c chopped strawberries (lightly sprinkle with flour)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Line muffin tins with cups or lightly grease.  

Whisk together all dry ingredients and set aside.  Stir together yogurt and oil until incorporated.  Add egg and mix until well-blended.  Stir in dry ingredients until just mixed and then fold in strawberries.

Fill muffin cups 2/3 way full and bake for 20-25 minutes (until toothpick in center comes out clean).  Let cool on rack.

Makes 12 or so muffins.

The Results

Let’s just start with the beginning – a short trip to the grocery store to pick up some whole wheat flour.  (‘What?’ you’re saying – ‘I don’t see whole wheat flour in the recipe.’)  Well, of course you don’t… let’s just say our trip did not go exactly as planned (add car troubles, crying babies, and wrestling boys) and I ended up bringing home bread flour.  Really?!  The main thing I needed to pick up, and I did it wrong.  Sounds just about right around here.  So, as you can see, I just used regular flour instead because I was NOT going back.

Anyhow, other than that snafu, the recipe was super simple, and my four year old did pretty much all the work.  He was especially excited that I let him cut off the strawberry stems – it’s the little things for him.  🙂

And the muffins turned out pretty darn good.  The yogurt made them super moist inside and I loved the bits of fresh strawberries throughout.  And all three kids ate them right up, so I say a definite success!

IMG_4271

5 thoughts on “Strawberry Muffins

  1. Welcome back Courtney! Gorgeous little cupcakes and I remember what a feat it was doing the most simplest things when you have little feet under and around your feet. Going to the grocery store was a nightmare-vague and horrible memories of that with 2 kids under 5. I promise this all too will pass… Take Care, BAM

    Like

Comments make me happy.

