Strawberry Macaroon Shortcake

Hi, my friends!

(Can I just say it’s great to be back?… Though no one told me how hard it was going to be to pull up ‘add new post’ and start writing again.  I think I’ve started this post about five times, already.  But I gotta finish it sometime, right?)

It has been a wonderful month off – with vacation trips, school prep, getting my oldest off to kindergarten (big deal!), and just enjoying my kids to the fullest.

Through this time, I realized how much time I was spending on the computer – and how much my boys appreciate having that time for themselves instead.  So I’m coming back with a new attitude and focus… you may see fewer posts and less commenting, but know I’m still around, reading about your fantastic food and experimenting with my own.

I’ve also decided to stick to what I love to do… bake.  So they’ll be a lot fewer ‘meal’ posts and hopefully more baked goods.

So let’s get back on track with a tasty dessert.

The Recipe:

Strawberry Macaroon Shortcake, adapted from Kraft recipes

1-1/3 c flake coconut

1/2 c slivered almonds, chopped

1/3 c sugar

2 T flour

1/8 t salt

2 egg whites

1/2 t coconut extract

1 c whipped cream

2 c strawberries, sliced

Preheat oven to 325°F.  Mix coconut, almonds, sugar, flour and salt in large bowl.  Beat egg whites and coconut extract lightly with fork.  Add to coconut mixture; mix well.

Line cookie sheet with foil  Spread coconut mixture evenly onto foil, forming a flat 8 inch circle.

Bake 20 to 25 minutes or until lightly browned.  Cool.  Remove from foil.  Cut into 8 wedges.  Top evenly with the whipped cream and strawberries just before serving.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

I made this earlier in the summer to enjoy with our neighbors.  It was a perfect dessert to eat on the back porch while the sun set.

I especially enjoyed the strawberry coconut flavor combination.  And the shortcake tasted just like a regular macaroon; slightly crispy, toasted coconut on the outside – and soft and chewy in the middle.  Hubs contributed with a bourbon-infused whipped cream that was out-of-this-world.

And it was double-y good since it was one of the first ‘real’ desserts we’d had all summer.

(But more on that another time.)

All the bowls came back empty – always a good sign.

Hoping you’ve all had a wonderful month – and looking forward to catching up.

10 thoughts on “Strawberry Macaroon Shortcake

  1. Great to see you back! Glad you had some quality time with your family. It is a big deal when your oldest starts kindergarten! My oldest is in 5th grade, his last year at elementary school! 😦 I know I’m going to be a wreck at the end of the school year. My second started 1st grade, so now I have my little one to keep me company. I too realized that I was spending too many hours at the computer when I could be spending it w/ my boys. I still read everyones post, though didn’t comment as often as I’d like to. You and Geni are great resources for baked good recipes, so keep up the posts! 🙂

    Like

  2. Yay, welcome back!! Sounds like you had a wonderful time off with your family. I’m all about you featuring more baking recipes–one of my favorite things to do as well. I haven’t in forever though, mainly because it’s more practical for me to cook meals that will last me for the week (since I’m only feeding myself). But I miss baking! Need to get back on that. Anyways, this dessert sounds lovely. 🙂

    Like

  3. Welcome back! I, too, spent a more laid back summer at the lake. My daughter told me I’ve spent too much time on the computer.. I used to have a compulsive sort of “read everyone’s blog every day for hours” sort of compulsion (a bit of a perfectionist, eh;) and now I’m more laid back. I post less often, I read posts as they visit me.. I visit back, when I’m able. I don’t feel such a compulsion addiction as I once did. It makes blogging much more pleasant, I think. I love your recipe today.. fresh and light.. the perfect one to come back to us with! xx Smidge

    Like

  4. Welcome back! I agree with Smidge I think we need a blog life balance… I love the strawberry shortcakes it reminds me of living at home and mom used to take them hot out of the oven and pile on the fixins! Take care, BAM

    Like

  5. Glad to see you back! I think that fewer posts and in areas that you love sounds like an awesome plan. You have to love what you do, and finding that balance (been there done that) is super hard. Lovely recipe to start your blogging world back with.

    Like

  6. Glad to see you back, Courtney! Sorry I’m a little late to the reunion because I’m playing catch up after a visit back home.
    This was my favorite dessert when I was a boy, though I never tried it with coconut. It sounds like a great variation, one that I want to try.
    Again, welcome back!

    Like

Comments make me happy.

