Easy Protein Breakfast Crepes

I am working on fooling myself.

I’m trying to convince myself that I can eat all my regular favorites… with just a little twist to make them healthy.

So far it’s kinda worked.

(I’m not going to lie when I say I still have a mad craving for chocolate.  And homemade white bread.)

Anyhow, when I saw this east recipe at Sweet Samsations for a 2-ingredient crepe, made with peanut butter, I had to give it a try.

(I love me some crepes.)

The Recipe:

Protein Breakfast Crepes, adapted very slightly from Sweet Samsations

2 eggs, well beaten

3 T peanut butter

3 T water

a pinch of salt

Preheat small skillet at medium low.

Mix all ingredients in a bowl until smooth (this took quite a while, but be patient, it will happen.)

Lightly grease pan.  Pour batter in, twisting your pan in a circular motion to cover evenly.

Cover and let cook for about 2 minutes.  Loosen edges with spatula and flip.  Cover and cook for an additional minute.

Remove from pan and serve.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

I have to admit, I was a little worried about this one… especially since I knew I wasn’t going to cover it up with a ton of delicious goodies.  But really, they’re pretty darn good.  I ate mine with fresh sliced banana (pb & banana are one of my (current) favorite flavor combinations).

I also had a small taste of the boys’ versions: one with 100% pure maple syrup – reminding me of a maple-bar flavor, and one with homemade strawberry jam – giving it a pb&j flavor.  All three were quite delicious.

(Also just think of how great they’d be slathered in Nutella!)

Simple, easy, and able to fool me into thinking I’m having something bad.

A perfect way to start the day.

15 thoughts on “Easy Protein Breakfast Crepes

  1. Courtney, these are a great idea! I love the few simple ingredients…and that they are healthy 🙂 I could imagine alot of different fillings, veggie too. I’m going to have to try these over the weekend. I had crepes on my mind lately!

    Like

  2. Courtney, what a great idea! I love the simplicity and few ingredients…and of course that they are healthy! I’ll have to try these over the weekend. I’ve had making crepes on my mind for awhile!

    Like

  3. Those look awesome!! I’m glad you and your kids loved them! hehe.. Did you mix yours by hand? I gotta say I’m the laziest baker ever and I use my KA mixer all the time even when it’s pretty unecessary! So yeah, I used my KA for this! haha.. Oh yes and the jam would be soo good. If I make it again, I’d add some extra PB, some jam and cream cheese, roll it up and cut it up sushi style! 😀 Thanks for trying out my recipe! 🙂

    Like

  4. I’ve never attempted crêpes but yours, here, sure make it tempting to try. When you mentioned eating them with bananas, all I could think of was adding chocolate. Your Nutella idea would do nicely, although I doubt I could be “good” and only eat 1 or 2.

    Like

  5. I can definitely picture any one or all of the additions suggested by previous commenters. Nutella and cream cheese would thrill me the most.

    Keep writing…

    Like

  6. Courtney, I honestly couldn’t believe that these require no flour. How amazing if you ask me! I will definitely try these. My daughter and I are HUGE peanut butter fans and I can think of any number of fillings that would be wonderful (strawberries and chopped almonds!).

    So glad your new eating plan is working for you. I think it’s high time I get on one too.

    Like

  7. Mmm pb and banana is one of my favorite combos as well. I’ve never used the flavors in a crepe though–I’m sure this was delicious! I’m with Geni, I need to get on this healthier eating plan as well….and cut back on the fountain Coca-Colas. Ha!

    Like

  8. My daughter made crepes for me one morning.. naughty, naughty crepes.. covered in strawberries, chocolate and whipped cream:) I like that these are healthy and (if I can resist) I’d like to try them with just the bananas and PB.. well, does a tiny smear of Nutella count?? xx

    Like

Comments make me happy.

