Banana Oatmeal Muffins

So, as I’ve mentioned the last couple of weeks, we’re trying to eat better.

And for me, that means lots of cooking experiments.

Sometimes they turn out good… sometimes, not so much.

Now, I’m posting this recipe to see if any of you out there might have a suggestion for making them better…

(Though probably actually following the recipe would’ve helped.)

The Recipe:

Banana Oatmeal Muffins, adapted from Keeping Up with the Joneses

2 & 1/2 c oats (old-fashioned kind, not quick cooking)

3/4 c plain low-fat greek yogurt

1/4 c applesauce

2 eggs

1/2 c sugar

1/4 c vanilla protein powder

1 1/2 t baking powder

1/2 t baking soda

1/4 t salt

2 bananas

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.   Spray muffin pan with non-stick cooking spray.

Place all of the ingredients, including banana,s in a blender or food processor, and blend until oats are smooth.

Divide batter among tin, and bake for 15-18 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

These weren’t terrible, but they were certainly lacking something.  I had reduced the sugar from 3/4 c to 1/2 c – replacing the last 1/4 c with the protein powder.  Additionally, I didn’t have a full cup of yogurt, so I added the 1/4 c applesauce.  Perhaps it was those substitutions that made them bland.

They also did not turn out looking too pretty.  They actually looked decent coming straight out of the oven, but they soon collapsed, leaving behind a heavy-looking, flat muffin.

If I’d taken a side view, you’d see how truly flat they are.

There’s a definite banana taste, but it’s just kind of dull.  And the texture is really spongy, which is kind of weird in my opinion.

Anyways, they had mixed reviews in the family.  One of my boys liked them, the other did not.  I thought they weren’t too bad, but Hubs was not impressed.

So, now for your help…

What would you do differently or add to make these better?  I’d love any ideas.

Have a wonderful weekend!

17 thoughts on “Banana Oatmeal Muffins

  1. Try using dark brown sugar instead of regular granulated sugar – it has a richer taste, so you can get away with using less and still having great flavor. You could add some banana extract or another mashed banana if the muffins didn’t have enough banana flavor for you. I would also add some vanilla extract. I add it to just about everything I bake because I love vanilla. Good luck with the recipe – I hope you’re able to tweak it so that everyone in your family likes it.

    Like

  2. I agree with Kate…maybe use brown sugar. Also, maybe a bit honey or agave? I have to say I’m rarely a fan of “healthy” muffins though. Even the good ones still tend to have a “healthy” taste to them. I have found one or two exceptions though. 😉

    Like

  3. Hi Courtney, I agree with Kate and Kristy, but I think the issue is that your tastebuds are used to things being very sweet. I have been on low sugar lifestyle for a while now, and even the cherry Tea Cake I made the other day (only 1/2 cup sugar) seemed quite sweet to me. I’d suggest adding vanilla extract and ground spices like ginger or cinnamon…

    Like

  4. I made these last week and I had the exact same feelings about them as you. They were just pretty bland. The texture was kind of weird, too. I added mini chocolate chips to half, and that didn’t really help. The kids really liked them, though.

    Like

  5. Courtney – I made muffins using oatmeal before; and I have to admit that the chocolate chips were the highlights in those muffins. The oatmeal added that goey/almost rubbery texture that I don’t really particularly like in muffins. Sorry I can’t be more of a help.

    Like

  6. You know Courtney, back when I use to be the head baker at a small cafe I could have offered up some tips on healthy muffins. But atlas I haven’t made muffins in literally over 10 years and the knowledge is somewhere hiding in the back of my mind. I guess i need to get back to my roots. 😉

    Like

  7. I like all of these suggestions here.. cinnamon, mashed banana, brown sugar.. I’m not an expert on texture, but I do know that most healthy dishes lack that “zing” of flavor we’re used to in a muffin. I’m trying to adjust as well and it’s not easy that’s for sure. But just think about how healthy you’re getting!! What about some lemon or orange zest??

    Like

Comments make me happy.

