Healthier Cookie Dough Balls

Hi.

My name is Courtney.

It’s been two weeks since I baked and/or ate a real dessert.

(No, these do not count – they are for breakfast.)

I think I might be slowly going insane.  Seriously, the last dessert I baked and ate was our pie on Fourth of July.  And I can’t remember the last time I enjoyed something chocolate-y.

I needed an intervention, stat… so I was very glad when I saw these healthy cookie dough balls.

I was excited to find a way to enjoy something sweet with chocolate, while still sticking (mostly) to our healthy eating (I refuse to call it a diet).

The Recipe:

Healthier Cookie Dough Balls, adapted from Bake Your Day

¼ c whole wheat flour

1-¼ c oats

1 t cinnamon

¼ t salt

1/2 scoop protein powder

½ c creamy peanut butter

¼ c applesauce, all natural/no sugar added

⅓ c all-natural maple syrup

1 T honey

2 t vanilla

¼ c dark chocolate chips

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside.

In a small bowl, whisk the flour, oats, cinnamon, salt, and protein powder; set aside.

Cream the peanut butter, applesauce, maple syrup, honey and vanilla in a large bowl until well-combined.  Add the flour and oats mixture and stir until combined.  Add dark chocolate chips and stir well.

Scoop heaping tablespoons of dough and roll into balls.  (I just used a small ice-cream scooper.) Recipe makes about 12-16 dough balls.

Refrigerate before serving.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

Yep, this pretty much did the trick.

The dough tastes similar to most (peanut butter chocolate chip) cookie doughs I may have allegedly sampled in the past.  And it so filled my craving for something bad – without being that bad.

They are a little sticky, so be prepared to wash your hands afterwards.  But it’s a small price to pay for a little sanity happiness.

~~~~

We’ll be out-of-town camping this weekend and won’t return until Tuesday… so don’t expect to hear from me until Wednesday.  And wish us luck – a two-year old and five-year old… in a tent… for several days.  Oh, boy.

16 thoughts on “Healthier Cookie Dough Balls

  1. So I already ate my dessert for the night and now you have me craving more. 🙂 Cookie dough balls. I like this idea. I have a serious love for cookie dough. And I’m impressed…I can’t go that long without desserts. And if I did, I can guarantee what I’d make would not be remotely healthy to make up for it. 😉

    Like

  2. Well, if you had to stray, these are certainly the way to go. They’re about as healthy a cookie dough treat that you could make and still remain tasty.
    I hope you guys have a great camping trip. What wonderful memories you’ll bring home! Have fun!

    Like

  3. All I need is the applesauce. Excuse me–I have to run to the store. Cookie Dough Balls? OMG, what could be healthier (big grin!)?

    Like

  4. That sounds so yummy and hey! There’s no sugar in there. It’s gotta be a low calorie one!! Or at least we’d like to think so! But yeah I totally get what you mean! I’ve been a little deprived of desserts and kinda stuffed myself with more than I should today… lol. By the way when I say “deprived” I’m talking about eating desserts 3 times a week instead of every day. haha. Have lots of fun on your camping trip Court!!

    Like

Comments make me happy.

