Fruity Yogurt Power Pops

Yeah, I’m cheating again.

This is not a real ‘cooking’ post.

But it’s just about all I’ve got in me now.

(Not in a bad way.  Just in a ‘it’s still gorgeously warm and sunny out, and I refuse to heat up my house with the oven, plus I’m too busy making sure the boys don’t drown or kill each other in the backyard’ way.)

When I saw this post at skinnytaste.com, I just knew I had to make my own version.

The Recipe:

Fruity Yogurt Power Pops, inspired by skinnytaste.com

(Makes about a dozen + pops.)

For the Blue:

1 c blueberries

1/2 c greek yogurt (plain or vanilla is fine)

1/3 scoop vanilla protein powder

1/4 c 100% juice (I used acai berry for color)

For the White:

1 banana

1 small can of crushed pineapple

1/2 c greek yogurt

1/3 scoop vanilla protein powder

1/4 c 100% juice (apple this time)

For the Pink:

1 c strawberries

1/2 c non-fat strawberry yogurt

1/3 scoop vanilla protein powder

1/4 c 100% juice (apple again)

Blend blue mix.  Fill popsicle molds 1/3 of the way up.  Freeze for half an hour.  Insert stick(s) and let freeze for another hour.

Blend white mix.  Add to molds, filling another 1/3 of the way up.  Freeze for an hour.

Blend pink mix.  Add to molds, filling to the top.  Freeze for another hour or until ready to serve.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

Let’s just say my boys are obsessed with our small smoothie blender, so even making this recipe was super fun for all.  Even though it’s several steps, the overall time spent working is minimal, and you get several pops out of it.

(We also happened to have some extra, which I just poured into ice-cube trays.  These will be perfect to pop out and add to any regular smoothie any morning.)

Once complete, we were all excited to give them a try… and we weren’t disappointed.  They have a fresh, tangy flavor that was very refreshing while hanging out in the backyard in the sun.  And I knew they were pretty darn healthy, which always makes me feel good.

As you can see, I had no actual popsicle sticks, so lollipop ones had to do.

Refreshing, tasty, and healthy – a perfect combination, if you ask me.

Wishing you all a great end to your weeks.

19 thoughts on “Fruity Yogurt Power Pops

  1. I want to make these…I need to collect up a few more ingredients first, though! We just got one of those things that freezes popsicles in just 10 minutes, so I can’t wait to try these out in there!

    Like

  2. no way! This is NOT cheating at all!! You’re still making food!! When you said “cheating” I thought you meant those ready made mixes or whatever. lol! mmm.. This looks really good!! Perfect for summer time!

    Like

  3. I am not a huge jam maker, but this beautiful jam you have here is certainly motivating me to do it. Now if I had friends with a strawberry field, I would totally be IN. Love the cute pics of the kids at the beach. Happy summer days!

    Like

  4. Given you’ve 2 very active boys, these smoothies would be perfect. The boys “help” so they’re occupied and the result is a very healthy snack, one that everyone in your family will enjoy. You can’t hope for much more.

    Like

  5. My kids would love these! And I should totally get them a mini smoothie maker, they would be obsessed with that! Enjoy your warm sunny weekend! We are too. 🙂

    Like

  6. I’m very happy you’re enjoying the sunshine and making the most of it. I love my blog but do struggle to put the oven on in summer and really get into it so I’m glad I’m not alone. These look awesome – the colours are very impressive. Perfect summer treat!

    Like

Comments make me happy.

