Red, White, and Blue – Berry Pie

I’m going for a quick post today, as Summer has finally hit the Northwest.

It never fails – July 5th is almost always our unofficial start to summer around here.

(I have to admit, yesterday was pretty darn perfect, too.  I do believe they said on the news that it was only the ninth Fourth of July since 1948 that it was at least 70 degrees with no rain.)

Anyways, we’re scheduled for 7 days of sun, with our highs in the 70’s and low 80’s – which to me, is pretty darn near perfect.

(Though I am thinking about you all in triple digits… hoping you get some much-needed relief very soon.)

So, I’m going outside.

And I’m staying out there.

Just be prepared, I may not be baking for a bit.

Because these seven days… could possibly be our whole summer.

In the meantime, enjoy our delicious holiday dessert.

The Recipe:

Berry Pie, adapted from Knead to Cook

1 recipe of Pate Brisee, (though you do not need to pre-bake it)

6 c of blueberries, raspberries, and strawberries (your choice of ratios – I used 1 c blueberries, 2 c raspberries, 3 c strawberries)

zest from one lemon

juice from one lemon

1/4 c of all-purpose flour

1/4 c of sugar

1/2 t of ground cinnamon

Preheat your oven to 425 degrees.

Gently mix all of the ingredients in a bowl together.  Avoid breaking the berries as best as you can.  Fill your pie crust.

Bake the pie for 20 minutes.  Then turn the oven temperature down to 350 degrees and bake for 40 additional minutes.

Remove and let cool.  Then cut and serve.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

As you probably noticed, I used the Pate Brisee again.  As I told Hubs, I needed to prove I was the boss of that darn recipe (though I may have used some other, um, less appropriate words.)  Anyhow, this time it went very, very, smoothly.  And the berry part was a snap, too.  Seriously, this was so simple and quick to put together.

And when it came out, it looked and smelled like a dream.

Now, I want to let you know that it turned out a little tart – which I loved, but if you don’t, you can add a little more sugar if you need.  We served this treat up with a scoop of good ol’ vanilla ice cream.

And it was the perfect patriotic dessert.

Hope you all are having a wonderful week!

(Oh, and a quick side-rant about Facebook… I just want to let you know that I am still posting things on FB, but they are only allowing small amounts of my followers to see them.  For example, yesterday’s post was only shown to 28 people.  That’s 28 out of more than 800 of you out there.  If I want you all to see the posts, I get to pay them to do it.  And that’s paying them separately for each post.  So… I guess I’m going to encourage all of you out there who follow me on FB, to check back more frequently on the blog itself and/or sign up for email updates.  And I’m still brainstorming what else I can do.  Thank you all for reading – you all are the best!!)

(Boy, my short post got long quick.)

10 thoughts on “Red, White, and Blue – Berry Pie

  1. That would have been the perfect treat to go with a the Fourth of July celebration. It’s gorgeous Courtney! Enjoy your nice, warm weather and live it up a little. You can always grab the boys and visit me in sunny So Cal if you ever are in need of some more sun. We could go to Lego Land! 🙂

    Like

  2. Since it’s in the high 90s and 100s here, I’m truly jealous of your temperatures. Beautiful pie!

    Keep writing…

    Like

  3. Glad to hear your getting some sunshine–enjoy it!! We only got a few hours of sunshine on the 4th (gloomy all morning and chilly at night). This pie sounds delicious, and I’m sure it tasted wonderful as well!

    Like

  4. Wow! Your temps sound fantastic! It’s been high 90s and even in the 100s around here! I even got in my pool on Wednesday (which I usually only do once or twice toward the end of Aug!). The pie sounds great!

    Like

  5. Enjoy your summer weather Courtney! I don’t blame you for planning to stay outside and not bake too much. These are the days we need to embrace and enjoy with the kids. 🙂 Your berry pie looks out of this world!

    Like

  6. I love your pie and you’ve mastered that crust!! Facebook.. I’ve heard about this.. nasty and I will just cancel my page if they charge! Who needs that!? Don’t get me started.. they’re spoil-sports!!

    Like

Comments make me happy.

