Apple, Gorgonzola, and Bacon Quiche

This was one of those recipes that I so could’ve given up on – at least once or twice – or eight times.

It wasn’t easy, it wasn’t pretty, but I did it.

And the results were pretty darn good, if I say so myself.

So bear with me (and this recipe) if you decide to read through my post or try making this.  (Though many of you, I’m sure, would totally rock this from the start.)

The Recipe:

Apple, Gorgonzola, and Bacon Quiche, a hybrid of Hub’s and my recipe

1 recipe of Pate Brisee:

(2 c all-purpose flour

1/2 t salt

1 t sugar

1 stick sweet butter

4 T vegetable shortening

1 t lemon juice

about 1/4 c ice water

Place flour, salt, and sugar in bowl of food processor.  Pulse to combine.  Break/cut butter and shortening into 1 T cubes and add to flour.  Pulse until the consistency of coarse sand.  Add liquid a little at a time, pulsing in between, until dough begins to come together.  Pour onto clean surface and form into a disk.  Chill 1 hour or overnight.  Remove 1 hour prior to rolling.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Line crust with parchment or foil (spraying with cooking spray first).  Prick bottom with fork.  Fill pie with weights or raw beans.  Place weighted pastry in oven.  Cook for about 15 minutes.  Remove weights/lining and continue to cook until crust looks dry.)

5 pieces of bacon, cooked and chopped into 1/4 to 1/2 inch pieces

2 red delicious apples, unpeeled and grated (quick tip: squeeze out as much of the extra apple juice from the pieces as possible so your quiche isn’t extra liquid-y)

5 oz gorgonzola cheese, crumbled into small chunks

1 1/4 c half n half

3 large eggs

Cover bottom of crust with a thin layer of bacon.  Top with layer of cheese and then layer of apples.  Add additional layers if needed.

Mix half n half with eggs and beat with fork until yolks are broken and incorporated.  Gently pour over crust, filling to the top.

Place on cookie sheet in oven and bake at 375 degrees for at least 45 minutes, until puffed up and not jiggly in the middle.  (A knife inserted into middle should not reveal any liquid.)

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

So, it all started out with the Pate Brisee.

I’d made this several times before, so I assumed it was going to be a breeze.  Until I got distracted when adding my ice water and accidentally poured in too much.  This made it a little sticky, but I just thought that maybe as it rested in the fridge, it would dry up a bit.

It didn’t.

Let’s just say when rolling it out on my lovely large counter-space using my brand new pastry roller, it stuck.

To everything.

And would not come off.

I thought about giving up (just for the day) and trying again tomorrow, but I decided instead to re-roll it into a ball, let it rest, and try again with a significant amount of flour-dusting on everything.  And hallelujah, it worked!

I placed it into my dish… and promptly realized I didn’t have any parchment paper or foil.

So, I improvised with a lightly greased (on the bottom) ceramic dish and some beans.  And that seemed to work pretty well.  Until I tried to remove it to cook the bottom of the crust.

And it stuck.

After much wrangling, using oven mitts and a little strength, I got it free with minimal damage.  I placed the crust back in the oven to finish baking, thinking all would be well.

And then the bottom of the crust puffed up like a little balloon.

(I was seriously getting frustrated at this point.)

I popped it with a fork, added a few more extra pokes of the tines, and placed it back in the oven until it finally looked dry.  Then I took it out to rest and started prepping and adding the filling.

This is what it looked like heading into the oven.

I cooked it about 40 minutes on convection and thought it looked done.

It wasn’t.  This picture was taken right before I cut out a slice that disintegrated all over my plate.  Sorry no pictures because at that point I was just too mad.

Anyways, I could’ve given up again… but I didn’t.  I placed my crust back in, scooped over the filling, covered the quiche with a pan lid (remember no foil), and put it back in to cook longer.

Finally, about 20 (yes 20) minutes later, it was finally done.

(At this point, Hubs had had to leave for his meeting, and I’d fed the boys since they were starving – and complaining – and all around driving me nutso.)

(Oh, and you get no pictures of the full final product.  Let’s just say it was not pretty.)

I cut myself a slice to enjoy alone… and enjoy it I did!

I’m going to admit here that I am not a fan of bleu cheeses.  At all.  Yet a mild and tangy gorgonzola, paired with a sweet red delicious apple and chewy salty bacon, over a crisp and buttery crust… Mmm-mmm-mmmmmm, it was good!

(Even all alone after a hugely frustrating experience.)

And when Hubs finally got home and had a slice, he couldn’t agree more.

So, if you’ve made it all the way through this story with me, you’ve probably got the patience to make this recipe.  And you’ve already know some of the pitfalls to avoid.

Crazily enough, I’m looking forward to making it again.

(Though probably not for a long while.)

12 thoughts on “Apple, Gorgonzola, and Bacon Quiche

  1. That sounds like a struggle but good for you for sticking it through. I actually am laughing with you on all of your misadventures as I have been there- done that on many occasions. Your last piece looks very rich and delicious. Take care, BAM

    Like

  2. Now that is some determination! I love it. And I love this quiche. I’m a big fan of quiche and love the flavors you have in this one. I’m definitely going to give this a try. And I’m going to keep your pointers in mind when I do. 🙂

    Like

  3. Wow.. that was such an ordeal.. you even had me sweating and puffing flour on my forehead in anguish! I love that you never gave up and you had the ultimate reward.. that is such a delicious looking quiche.. what a flavorful combination of tastes.. I’m keeping this recipe (and I promise not to add too much water and I’ve got parchment paper) xo

    Like

  4. Oh my!! This quiche looks so delicious!! I love quiches but making them can be a little tricky at times. 😦 I remember my old oven used to be a complete disaster when it comes to making quiches. They were always never cooked properly and the bottom would still be watery.. urghhh.. haha.. But your quiche looks like a mouth-watering success!!! Yumm

    Like

  5. Pingback: Red, White, and Blue – Berry Pie « Misadventures in Cooking

Comments make me happy.

