Ooey-Gooey Brownies

When I asked Hubs what he wanted for his Father’s Day dessert, he promptly replied, “Ooey-Gooey Brownies.  Pure chewy chocolate brownies.”

(Just proving he’s a man I can love for the rest of my life.)

Since he’d pretty much taken over his own FD dinner (and who can blame him), I knew I needed to blow this dish out of the water.  And considering chocolate is my specialty, I was all over this.

The Recipe:

Ooey-Gooey Brownies, adapted from America’s Test Kitchen

1/3 c Dutch-processed cocoa

1 1/2 t instant coffee

1/2 c plus 2 T boiling water

2 oz unsweetened chocolate, finely chopped

4 T (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, melted

1/2 c plus 2 T vegetable oil

2 large eggs

2 large egg yolks

2 t vanilla extract

2 1/2 c sugar

1 3/4 c all-purpose flour

3/4 t table salt

6 oz bittersweet chocolate chips

Adjust oven rack to lowest position and heat oven to 350 degrees.  Line a 9 x 12 baking pan with two sheets of aluminum foil (perpendicular to each other).  Spray with nonstick cooking spray.

Whisk cocoa, instant coffee, and boiling water together in large bowl until smooth.  Add unsweetened chocolate and whisk until chocolate is melted.  Whisk in melted butter and oil. (Mixture may look curdled.)  Add eggs, yolks, and vanilla and continue to whisk until smooth and homogeneous.  Whisk in sugar until fully incorporated.  Add flour and salt and mix with rubber spatula until combined.  Fold in bittersweet chocolate chips.

Scrape batter into prepared pan and bake until toothpick inserted halfway between edge and center comes out with just a few moist crumbs attached, 30 to 35 minutes.  Transfer pan to wire rack and cool 1½ hours.

Using foil overhang, lift brownies from pan.  Return brownies to wire rack and let cool completely, about 1 hour.  Cut into squares and serve.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

Yep, I think I hit the nail on the head with this one.

(Kind of overdoing the idioms today, sorry.)

The only bad part of this recipe is waiting the requisite 2 hours for it to cool completely.  (Pure torture – so prepare yourselves accordingly.)

These brownies are exactly what he was looking for – and so rich and chocolately, it’s hard to believe.  They were chewy and fudgy, with bursts of chocolate flavor from the bittersweet chips.

I took a picture of the cross-section, so you can see all the goodness.

For some people who are not quite the chocolate connoisseurs we are, serving with a big glass of milk or a dollop of vanilla ice-cream may be in order.

And Hubs was happy – which was all that really mattered.

(Though I was pretty darn happy, too.  Yummy!)

~~~~

This is your last chance to enter the giveaway here… I’ll pick a winner this afternoon.  Can’t wait!

15 thoughts on “Ooey-Gooey Brownies

  1. I agree with Jed. You had me the minute I saw “ooey-gooey” in the title. Best of all, though, it seems they live up to the title. This one is getting pinned so I can find it when I want to make them. Thanks!

    Like

  2. I think your kids must be spoiled rotten with a great mom that is always making such yummy treats for them. My kids are packing their bags and they should be at your doorstep soon. LOL (PS start cooking now as they will eat you out of house and home)

    Like

  3. These are the perfect brownie Courtney! They look so fudgy and rich and WONDERFUL! I would be in chocolate heaven! Your hubby is one lucky guy. I bet the kids were pretty happy as well. That photo with the picture perfect scoop of ice cream is fantastic! Have a great week!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Lemon Crack(le) Cookies « Misadventures in Cooking

  5. Pingback: Bob Barker Brownies « Rolling Sin…Sweets After Dark

Comments make me happy.

