Maple Bacon Biscuits

I’m kind of late to all the cooking trends out there.

I only started eating quinoa about a year ago.

I still sometimes mix up macaroons and macarons.

And whenever I hear about chia seeds I still think of the, um, inappropriate Chia Pet we had growing in our dorm room.

So, it’s not surprising that it took me until Summer of 2012 to finally give in to the maple-bacon craze.  (Hey, I’m only about two years behind, right?)

I figured Hubs deserved a decadent breakfast for Father’s Day since his birthday meals were pretty much a bust.  Plus, we’d saved all those calories by throwing out the cheesecake… so ooey-gooey maple bacon it was.

(Plus it was one of my New Year’s Resolutions.  Who knew I’d be just as bad at remembering delicious foods to make, than if I’d resolved to work out?)

The Recipe:

Maple Bacon Biscuits, adapted slightly from Eat, Play, Love

Syrup

1/2 lb bacon, cooked until medium brown

1/3 c brown sugar

1/4 c all-purpose flour

1/4 c maple syrup

2 T melted butter

Preheat the oven to 475 degrees.  Lightly grease a 9” round pan (a springform pan is helpful but not required).  Chop the cooked bacon into bite size pieces and then combine with the remaining syrup ingredients.  Stir until thoroughly combined and spread over the bottom of the prepared baking dish.

~~~~

Biscuits

2 c all-purpose flour

2 1/2 t baking powder

1/4 t baking soda

1 t salt

1/4 c shortening

2 T butter

3/4+ c low-fat buttermilk

In a large bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt and sift together.  Cut in the shortening and butter with a pastry dough blender.  Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients and add the buttermilk.  Gently blend the dry ingredients into the buttermilk forming a ball of dough.  Add additional buttermilk as needed – one teaspoon at a time.  Drop oversized tablespoons of the biscuit dough over the syrup in the pan until covered. Bake for 10-15 minutes at 475 degrees and then turn the oven off.  Leave the biscuits in the oven for another 5 to 10 minutes, until golden brown.  Remove the biscuits from the oven and immediately turn the pan upside down onto a serving platter. Lift off the pan and scrape any remaining syrup over the biscuits.  Pull apart to serve.  Best served warm.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

Okay, let’s just go over the main ingredients again… we have maple syrup, we have bacon, and we have homemade biscuits.  Is there anyone out there that thinks this is a bad idea?  I mean seriously – when you take several very tasty items and put them together, of course you are going to end up with something exponentially amazing.

You need a close up?

I thought so.

Anyways, I think I ended up using a little more bacon than called for, but really, not a bad thing.  The combination of the sweet maple-y sauce with the salty bacon and butter-y biscuits… wow!  It certainly perked us all up first thing in the morning.

(I also have to add the stand-out ingredient for me was the biscuits.  We all absolutely loved them – and the next time we have a down-home meal, they’re going on the menu for sure.)

Maybe there’s actually something to all these culinary trends… 😉

~~~~

Be sure to enter my giveaway for a Williams-Sonoma gift card – go to this post for more information.  🙂

8 thoughts on “Maple Bacon Biscuits

  1. I saw your post and was instantly hungry Courtney! I’m so glad you guys enjoyed these. They are so dangerously good aren’t they?! We haven’t made them since New Year’s. I need to get on those. Perhaps for our anniversary this weekend. Bacon, biscuits and syrup. Mmmmmm. Maybe before the weekend. LOL.

    Like

  2. These looked so good on Eat, Play, Love and equally good here. I mean, with maple syrup, bacon, and freshly-made biscuits, how could they be anything but fantastic? Being this is my 2nd sighting of the recipe, I think it’s a sign from the bacon gods that I need to make these biscuits. One doesn’t argue with the bacon gods.

    Like

Comments make me happy.

