Pina Colada Popsicles

I think I may have mentioned at some point how much I hate my counters.

(I’m going somewhere with this, I promise.  Stick with me.)

We purchased this house from another family, and they had decided to have tile counters installed in the kitchen.  If you’ve ever worked in a tile kitchen, it’s not ideal.  First of all, any time I attempt to roll something out, I end up with creases from the grout dips.  Second, the grout cracks and no matter how much we try to refill and seal, it just keeps happening.  And finally, it just looks like crap.  The grout they chose is a light gray color that has degraded to a speckled, dirty mess – and nothing gets it clean.

I had learned to live with this over the seven-plus years we’ve lived here.  Mostly because I could ignore it, since I rarely did anything in the kitchen except the dishes.

But now, now that I use the counters many times a week, it drives me absolutely crazy-insane.

So, this spring, when Hubs got a nice little bonus check, we decided something needed to be done about it.  And we went forward with ordering some gorgeous slate-colored acrylic counters.  I can’t tell you how excited I was.

Well, while ordering, they asked us if we wanted to pay for demo…or do it ourselves.  In the interest of saving a little money and having fun swinging a sledge-hammer, we opted to do the demo ourselves.

Let’s just say our plan to demo the small bar area and lower it to give us more counter space did not quite go as planned.  As in, we found a fun pipe about a half-inch taller than the existing counters.  (Half inch – grrr!)

Fun times – the vent piping (1/2 inch too tall) comes form the wall and goes to the sink.

Countertops are now currently on hold, as we prepare to open the half wall, re-pipe, and rebuild the wall.

So, to make my long story even longer, I have not been happy with my kitchen, so I haven’t wanted to really cook.

But, that doesn’t mean I haven’t been looking for fun non-cooking recipes to make with my boys that I can share with you.

The Recipe:

Pina Colada Popsicles, from The Reality of Skinny

1 can pineapple chunks, in juice

1 banana

1 can coconut milk

1/2 t vanilla extract

Blend and freeze.

The Results:

This counts as cooking, right?  And the boys got to play with the blender – a favorite thing to do in our house.

I did one batch in our popsicle mold and another set in an ice-cube tray.  Both turned out really good.  Honestly, they taste just like virgin pina coladas.

Always an easy way to make little popsicles – all you need is plastic wrap and toothpicks.

(Which has me thinking that they might be even tastier with a little rum thrown in….hmmm.)

The boys (and their friends who were visiting) loved them.  And I knew that they weren’t too bad at all for them to eat.

Yes, he’s having a too cool, bad hair moment. But he’s enjoying the pop.

The small ones are perfect for quick pick-me-ups.

action shot

And I have visual proof that they both enjoyed them.

Now I just need to make a batch for Hubs and I (with rum) as a celebratory treat – when we finish the wall.

Wish us luck.

15 thoughts on “Pina Colada Popsicles

  1. I’d say you need a batch with rum before you finish the kitchen. Projects like that rarely seem to go as planned. I’m sure you’ll be thrilled when it’s all said and done though. The popsicles look great and I’m sure would be a hit here too. Love the hair and sunglasses!!!

    Like

  2. These just scream summer…puts a big smile on my face. Good luck with the rest of the remodel, I’m sure it will all work out in the end! And you guys will most definitely deserve an entire batch of the rum popsicles once you’re done. 😉

    Like

  3. I love the cling wrap and toothpick trick, how neat! Best of luck with the renovations, I was so unhappy with my last kitchen that we moved! So I completely understand your pain. It is crucial to love your kitchen 🙂

    Like

  4. So sorry about the surprise pipe Courtney. What a pita (that’s our acronym around here for pain in the a$$). The pops sound so refreshing and rum added would only be better. Everything’s better with rum…well almost everything. Hope the rest of the demo and new countertops goes much easier for you guys. I am so excited to see the reveal! 🙂

    Like

Comments make me happy.

