Dark Chocolate Macaroons

I love macaroons.

They might be my most favorite cookie ever.

(Though don’t hold me to that.  It could change at any moment.)

I love them plain.  I love them covered in fudge.  I love them dipped in chocolate fondue.  I pretty much love them in any shape, size, and form.

So, when I saw this very easy recipe for Dark Chocolate Macaroons on Pinterest, I couldn’t help myself.  I had to make them, right then.

The Recipe:

Dark Chocolate Macaroons, adapted just slightly from Chindeep.com

3 oz unsweetened chocolate, chopped

3/4 c sweetened condensed milk

7 oz sweetened, flaked coconut

1 t pure vanilla extract

coarse sea salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  In the top of a double boiler (or a pot on top of a pot of boiling water), combine chopped chocolate and condensed milk.  Heat just until chocolate is melted and mixture thickens slightly (about 2 minutes.)  Remove from heat.  Add coconut and vanilla. Mix well.

Scoop out onto lightly sprayed cookie sheet by the heaping tablespoon, placing the macaroons about 1 inch apart.  Put a little coarse sea salt on the top of each (not too much.)  Bake 12 minutes, or until the macaroons are set.  Transfer to wire racks to cool.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

I was not looking forward to chopping the chocolate.  I kind of hate doing that.  But, with a little advice, I decided to grate it with my hand grater.  Let’s just say that that was kind of a pain, too.  So, for future chopping, I’m getting a chocolate chipper – it looks really neat, and I’m excited for it to arrive.

(Let’s be honest…I’m excited for it to arrive so I can have an excuse to make something else with chocolate. 🙂 )

Anyways, other than that, this recipe was piece of cake.  (I think these macaroons may replace these as my new go-to quick chocolate snack fix.)

These cookies are perfectly chocolate-y with the added bonus of the coconut.  They ended up with a little crunch on the outside and wonderfully chewy on the inside.  If you’re not a dark chocolate fan, you could always replace the unsweetened chocolate with semi-sweet or even milk, if it makes you happy.

This recipe only made about 12 small cookies, which I actually think was good – because if we’d had more, we’d’ve just eaten them right away, too.

So, if you’re ever in quick need of a little chocolate pick-me-up, these cookies are definitely for you.

Have a wonderful weekend.

21 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate Macaroons

  1. I really wish I were more of a coconut and chocolate fan because these sound delicious! Love that they’re easy to make, too. 🙂 Hope you have a great weekend, Courtney! xx

    Like

  2. Can you believe I’ve never had a macaroon before? Crazy right! I actually hadn’t even heard of them until I started blogging. So you know I’m the not crazy about chocolate freak, but I did break down and make some chocolate cookie bars for the kids this week. Mr. N was particularly stoked. 🙂 I do love how easy these are though – maybe I’ll make them sometime for the kids too. Have a great weekend!

    Like

  3. They look amazing – and nice and simple too. With chocolate I often leave it in the packet and then break it up that way. Can be easier. Now… I have a questions re your coconut. Aussie version of coconut vs US is different, by flaked was it shredded and moist, or dry and stingy?

    Like

  4. Oh my gosh! Macaroons are my favourite!!! mmmm! And I love that you covered it all up with dark chocolate too! I’ve only dipped it in before. hehe.. Actually I almost never chop my chocolate! If I have the bars, I’ll just roughly break it up with just my hand, otherwise I’ll just use my chocolate chips! Too lazy to chop 😛

    Like

  5. I’ll keep this recipe in mind for the bake sale next year. I love easy recipes. I too love macaroon but never made them. I’m thinking after my sugar rush from yesterday’s bakesale I’ll be ready sometime next week to baking up more sweets! That chocolate chipper sounds cool!

    Like

Comments make me happy.

