Pita Pizzas {Healthy Lunch}

I’m not sure if I mentioned it, but last week was our Spring Break.

Which means we were less busy, yet somehow busier than ever.  (If you understand that phrase, you might be a parent.)

One of the ways I tried to keep the boys out of trouble is to draft them into making their own lunches – but the five-year old only wants to do this when the meal is ‘fun.’  So a couple of weeks ago, I saw a super simple ‘fun’ recipe for pizzas from Lisa at Smart Food and Fit – that had the added bonus of actually being good for them!

We heading to Trader Joe’s and the boys picked out the smaller pitas – but hey, they were excited about the meal, which made me happy, too.

Once home, the two-year old protested and went to play with his stacking boxes, but the five-year old was raring to go.

The Recipe:

Pita Pizzas, adapted from Smart Food and Fit

Trader Joe’s Whole Wheat Mini Pita Pockets

Homemade Marina Sauce

cheese of your choice (the boys wanted medium cheddar)

Either top or fill pita with 1-2 T of marinara sauce.  Sprinkle cheese.  Bake in 350 degree oven for 7 – 10 minutes.

(Okay, I’m not doing a printable recipe because, as you can see, this is SO complicated. 😉 )

The Results:

Like I mentioned above, my oldest was all about helping out with this one.  He insisted on filling one of his pizzas instead of topping it, and I thought, why not?

The boys really liked these pizzas, as demonstrated by actually eating them (for some reason they go on hunger strikes every now and then) and asking for more.  I liked that the pockets have quite a bit of protein in them and kept them full until dinner.

Served with a banana and a glass of milk, a healthy meal was had by all.

Now we just need to work on adding some vegetables…

~~~~

On a completely different note, I had to post that I used John’s (From the Bartolini Kitchen’s) suggestion of taking some slices of Cheese Bread and making them into croutons – and they were simply AMAZING!  So if you’re going to try the Crescia al Formaggio, take a slice or two, cut them up, and either bake them in the oven or do what Hubs did: grill them on the BBQ.  Pure awesomeness, I tell you.

15 thoughts on “Pita Pizzas {Healthy Lunch}

  1. Hi Courtney, thanks for the shout out on and trying this super easy kid friendly recipe. I kinda like the smaller pita’s, perfect portion size for the kiddo’s. Your son looks like he had a great time making them too, so cute! Looks like he made his version of a calzone! lol

    I love John’s recipes, I have to try his homemade croutons.

    Like

  2. Anything that gets kids enthused about food … make that healthy food, is a good thing. Heck! I’d probably enjoy these pizzas! Lisa’s blog is great for this kind of healthy tips. Thanks for the mention. Just be sure to make twice as many as needed. They seem to disappear long before the salad is ready. 🙂

    Like

  3. Don’t you love the hunger strikes that the kids will go on?! Actually, I don’t think Mr. N has been on one ever in his life, but Miss A, well it’s a nearly daily occurrence. It just depends on the meal. I used to make these for the kids a while back and somehow forgot about them until Lisa posted them. I love how your five year old got into these too. I could see both the kids happy to help with these. 🙂

    Like

Comments make me happy.

