Chocolate Chip Scones {Low Fat}

Yep… you read that correctly.

I made something that was (gasp) low-fat.

Low fat with chocolate, you might ask… and the answer is yes.  (Or maybe ‘yes!’ – with an exclamation point.)

Anyhow, my friend Geni at Sweet and Crumby made these during what she touted as a ‘Chocolate Emergency.’  And if you like chocolate as much as we do, you completely understand about a ‘Chocolate Emergency.’  We had one the other day, and I immediately thought back to this recipe.  Especially because I’d never made scones before – and I love learning how to make a new baked good.

The best part was we had everything on hand (well, except the buttermilk, but we just made that ourselves).

The Recipe:

Low Fat Fluffy Scones, very slightly adapted from Sweet and Crumby

2 c all-purpose flour

1/4 c sugar

2 t baking powder

1/2 t baking soda

1/4 t. salt

3 T butter, chilled and cut into small pieces

1 – 6 oz. carton vanilla low-fat yogurt

2 oz buttermilk

1/2 c mini chocolate chips

1/2 t sugar

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.  Combine first 5 ingredients in a bowl and whisk to equally disperse ingredients.  Cut in butter with a pastry cutter until mixture resembles coarse meal.  Add yogurt, and buttermilk just until dry ingredients are moistened (dough will be sticky).  Add chocolate chips.  Turn dough onto lightly floured surface; with floured hands, knead several times.  Pat dough into an 8-inch circle on a baking sheet coated with cooking spray. Cut dough into 12 wedges, cutting to but not through the dough; make a small slit in the center of each wedge.  Sprinkle top with 1/2 teaspoon of sugar.

Bake for 15-20 minutes or until golden and slightly firm when touched. Use the toothpick test as well to make sure it is cooked through the center.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

It was good.  Very, very good.  Light and fluffy, as promised from the original recipe.

And simple and quick to make, too.  (In fact, I’m making another batch today to enjoy this weekend, but I’m adding some cut up banana for a little extra fun.  I’m also considering using banana yogurt instead of vanilla – Geni used peach and said it turned out great, so a little added banana flavor would be a bonus, I think.)

What I also loved about it, was that is was a perfect recipe to get the kids involved – with everything.  One was my whisker, one my ingredient adder, kneader, and so on.

(A great way to keep them busy on a rainy day.)

They could hardly wait until it was ready, and I couldn’t blame them.  Just look at the gorgeousness that was made:

And the inside looked just as delectable.

 Let’s just say I’m on a roll for dishes that the whole family likes.

Kid tested and Mother approved.

And, bonus,  I have a brand new item to add to my baking repertoire.

(And it’s not so bad for you, too.  Yay!)

Enjoy your Friday, all.

~~~~

Edited to Add:  I did make these again today, this time adding 1 mashed ripe banana when I poured in the buttermilk and yogurt.  And I added 1/2 banana, cut into small pieces, when I mixed in the chocolate chips.  Again, this turned out fantastic!  Not quite as fluffy, but the banana flavor seeped throughout to make a lovely flavor complement to the chocolate chips.

22 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Scones {Low Fat}

  1. Such cute little guys! I love when they are ham’s at this age. Now my teenagers duck out of site for every family photo. If it is kid tested I am sure these are a winner! As with the motto of my website, if my Teenager QA analysts won’t eat it, it does not get blogged on Bam’s Kitchen. I hope the Easter bunny is good to you. Take Care, BAM

    Like

  2. Happy Easter Courtney! I love your comment: mother tested and kids approved 🙂 That’s always my motto too at our house 🙂 Love this recipe, must bookmark this for future weekends’ breakfast.

    Like

  3. This looks delicious! I made a couple of batches of scones last year, and I was surprised at how easy (and wonderful) they were. Definitely a great addition to your kitchen repertoire!

    Like

  4. If you want one that’s more geared to the adults, pass on the choc chips and add some cinnamon and chopped apple bits (peeled apple). MMMMMMMM good. But I think the kids would like these ones better.

    Like

  5. Your kids are sooooo adorable Courtney!!! Makes my heart melt!! AWWW!!! And I’m loving that big fat scone.. full of CHOCOLATES!! I want I want!! So envious of your little boys biting into the delicious scone!

    Like

  6. Pingback: Triple Chocolate Scones «

  7. Pingback: Be Kind, Unwind {And Less Guilt Foods to Help You Muscle Through Your Resolution} | Sweet And Crumby

Comments make me happy.

