Pizza Bread

Oooh, have I got a good recipe for you today…

As you all know, I love to bake – especially breads.  And I’m trying to be better at cooking meals, not just baking.  So I get super excited when these two worlds can collide; like they did the other night.

This is another one of my Pinterest finds, fitted to my family’s tastes.

And, as a bonus, it’s really quite easy to do.

The Recipes:

Pizza Bread, adapted from The Ivory Hut

1 t yeast

1 t sugar

3/4 cup warm water

1 2/3+ bread flour

1 t kosher salt

1/2 c bell pepper, chopped

1/4 c pepperoni, chopped

1/3 c onions, chopped

8 oz shredded mozzarella cheese

1 T olive oil

Sprinkle yeast over mixed warm water and sugar in a bowl.  Let it sit for 5 or so minutes until foamy, then add in flour and salt.  Mix (using a mixer, spoon, or your hands) just until it comes together.  Add pizza toppings and knead for 5-8 minutes.  Dough will be tacky, but feel free to dust with a bit more extra flour if it seems too sticky.  Let rise for about 1 hour, covered in a warm place, then put in the refrigerator for another hour.

Take the dough out of the refrigerator and flour a Silpat or waxed paper.  Roll out into a rectangle about 11×17”. Sprinkle cheese over top.  Then, using the Silpat or paper, fold along the long side, like an envelope.  Seal sides so cheese is not exposed.  Let rest while you preheat oven to 450 degrees.  Let oven stay at 450 degrees for 20 minutes.

Bake the bread, either on a pizza stone or baking sheet, for 25 to 30 minutes, until golden brown.  About 3 minutes before taking it out, lightly brush the top with olive oil and let it finish baking.  Let rest on a wire rack to cool slightly before slicing.

Serve warm with homemade Marinara sauce for dipping.

Marinara Sauce

2 T olive oil

5 cloves garlic, minced

1- 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes

1 t sugar

1/4 t red pepper flakes

1 t oregano

1 t basil flakes

1/2 t salt

1/4 t onion powder

Heat oil and garlic in saucepan over medium-low heat for 3 minutes.  Add tomatoes and remaining ingredients.  Raise temperature to medium and let simmer for 20 minutes.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

Last year, I admitted my love of boxed pizza rolls and made my own fresh and tasty version.  And they were really, really good.  But…they took forever to make.  Now this recipe gives you the same general concept, but so much easier and quicker.

(I have to admit that I was a little concerned going into this.  It was either going to be amazing or a big giant flop.  So glad it was the former.)

Making the dough was just like making regular dough, with just a couple of extras.  And the best thing – you can substitute and choose whatever filling ingredients you want to use.

When mixing, I highly recommend using some good old-fashioned hand-kneading to get all the fillings incorporated – the KitchenAid didn’t quite do it in that respect.  But once it’s mixed throughout, the rest is super simple.

Hubs commented that it looked like I was making fruit cake.

It was easy enough that I even made my own marinara sauce, from scratch, with no recipe!  (Though I have to shamefully admit that I did burn the garlic at first.  But that’s what happens when the UPS guy shows up, the kids and dog go crazy, and you get distracted by opening pretty packages.  Or is that just me?)

The finished loaf wasn’t the prettiest in the world, but really, you’re slicing it up anyways – so it doesn’t really matter.

Can you just imagine the cheesy bread smells coming from my kitchen?  (Frankly, I had to just imagine, too, since the burned garlic nastily smelled up the whole entire house.)

The flavor of this dish was all that I was hoping for and more.  The peppers, onions, and pepperoni were in every bite – and dipped in the marinara, it was just like a fluffy deep dish pizza.  Everyone loved it (yay!).

My only change for next time would be to roll the dough up in a spiral, so that the cheese could be spread out over more than just one section.  But, as far as changes go, that’s just a small one.

Not only would this be perfect for a meal, it would be a great appetizer to bring to a party.  (And it just looks cool when sliced.)

I can’t wait to try it again with other toppings.

Bon Appetit!

21 thoughts on “Pizza Bread

  1. This looks and sounds so good, Courtney! I can see how you couldn’t resist making it once you found it. I love the scent of bread baking and this would be out of this world Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Like

  2. oh! haha.. okay, I was wondering what it was at first too when I saw the dough. For some reason, the title led me to believing I was going to see an actual pizza. lol. When I saw the final product I thought.. Oh right! She said Pizza Bread! duh~! Love the addition of your delicious flavours! Peppers and meat and cheese. mmmmm mmmm!

    Like

  3. This totally reminds me of the appetizer we used to have at Christmas every year. Sadly the place we got it from stopped making it and we have been without it ever since. Now that you have me less afraid of bread, I think we can have this return to our family parties. 🙂

    Like

  4. Pingback: Pita Pizzas {Healthy Lunch} « Misadventures in Cooking

Comments make me happy.

