Cilantro Lime Couscous

I can’t believe I’m new to the whole couscous thing.

It’s only in the last couple months that I’ve discovered just how much I like it.  Mostly because the only times I’d had couscous in the past, it was served cold – and I really did not care for it.

(To clarify, I have issues with cold pasta.  I don’t know why, but I really do not enjoy cold pasta, especially pasta salads.  I suspect it might be a texture thing.  I’m weird, and I know it.)

Anyways, having couscous warm has been an eye-opening experience.  Those little beads of pasta just soak up flavor like nobody’s business, and it’s so easy to make.

Easy enough that I made up my very own recipe the other night.

The Recipe:

Cilantro Lime Couscous

2 T butter

1/2 onion, chopped

juice of 1 lime

1/2 c celery, chopped

1 t garlic powder

1 1/2 c Israeli couscous

1 3/4 c chicken broth

1/2 t salt

zest of one lime

1/2 c cilantro, chopped

Melt butter in a large saucepan over medium heat.  Add onions and saute until golden.  Add juice of 1/2 lime and celery.  Cook until celery is just tender.  Add couscous and garlic powder.  Stir often until couscous browns slightly.  Add broth, salt, and remaining lime juice and bring to a boil.   Reduce heat to low, cover and simmer until liquid is absorbed (about 12-15 minutes) and couscous is tender.  Remove from heat and stir in cilantro and lime zest.  Serve warm.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

I can’t believe this actually worked!  And worked well, at that.

The couscous was perfectly cooked and full of the lime flavor.  Even the onions and celery had little bursts of lime since they had been originally cooked in some of the juice.  The cilantro added a depth to the dish that made everyone in my family happy.  (We kind of love cilantro, if you haven’t noticed.)

And it was the perfect side dish to the tilapia; complimentary, but not the exact same taste palate.

I guess you could say that I’m a little proud of myself.

And actually excited again to be cooking (not just baking).

A great way to start the week, don’t’cha think?

16 thoughts on “Cilantro Lime Couscous

  1. This is a nice side dish Courtney. I like to add couscous to my soups to add some bulk to it, it actually sounds good right now. I can eat pasta cold, warm or hot; maybe it has something to do with the fact that I’m Italian and love my pasta and breads! Your tilapia looks great too. Nice to see a variety of recipes on your site from yummy baked goods to fun, nutritious meals! 🙂

    Like

  2. Perfection again! I have a bunch of cilantro that didn’t have a home yet. I also needed a side dish for dinner tomorrow night. This will be perfect Courtney. Thank you!!!! 🙂

    Like

  3. It’s great to be pleased with yourself when it’s so well deserved:) I think your couscous is different from what I’ve tried.. it’s a larger grain and would be so much nicer in texture in your recipe. I’ll have to look to see if we have it here in our stores.

    Like

Comments make me happy.

