Honey Lime Tilapia

All my good intentions to try to cook items a little healthier for out waistlines went completely out the window with that last recipe.

Ooops.

(I think you may already have the idea that I have absolutely no self-control when it comes to sweets.  Especially if they include chocolate or salty/sweet or basically anything with sugar.  I’m an addict.  Admitting it is the first step.)

Anyhow, I tried to redeem myself with a healthy dinner the other night – from a recipe I’ve been sitting on since August.

The Recipe:

Honey Lime Tilapia, from One Lovely Life

For the fish and marinade:

4 tilapia fillets

Juice and zest of 1 lime

1 T olive oil

1 1/2 T honey

1/2 t salt

1/2 t pepper

1/4 t garlic powder

For dredging and cooking:

1/2 c flour

1/4 t salt

1/4 t pepper

1-2 T olive oil

Assemble marinade by combining lime zest, lime juice, olive oil, honey, salt, pepper, and garlic powder in a gallon-sized zip-top bag or shallow container with a lid.  Add fish and marinate in the refrigerator anywhere from 1 hour up to 24 hours.

When ready to cook, combine flour with salt and pepper on a plate.  Remove each fish fillet from the marinade and dredge lightly with the flour on both sides (just a light, light coating).

Heat 1-2 T olive oil in a medium skillet over medium-high heat until shimmering.  Cook fillets for 3-4 minutes per side or until opaque and browned (this works best if you don’t disturb the fish much while letting it cook).

The Results:

What I absolutely loved about this recipe is that it took less than 10 minutes to make (even if you count making the marinade beforehand).  It’s super easy, and we had all the ingredients on hand – so a great idea for one of those nights where you’re struggling with what to make.

I do wish I’d marinated it longer (I only had it soaking for the hour) and that I’d used a zip-top bag instead of a shallow dish.  The reason I say this is that some bites had the lovely flavor of the lime and honey but others did not.  I’m thinking that if it had soaked longer and been completely covered with the marinade, it would have been more flavorful.

Overall, the flavor was really light – but when I did get a taste of the good stuff, it was quite delicious.  Since the recipe was so easy, I will definitely keep tweaking it to get the most bang for my buck flavor-wise.

(I have to point out that Emily’s picture from the original recipe looks way better than mine – probably because I was so ready to eat the fish, that I just snapped a couple quick shots so I could be done and eat.  Plus her crust looks amazing – gotta figure out that trick.)

And if you’re eyeing that couscous – it’s coming up next post, and it’s an original recipe I made up!

(And it’s really good, too.)

Happy Friday, friends!

20 thoughts on “Honey Lime Tilapia

  1. These look wonderful Courtney! I love a quick and easy dinner! And I do try to get a fish dinner in at least once if not twice a week. I would probably not marinate the fish any longer as the lemon juice may/will start to cook the fish! Since you mentioned some of the pieces had flavor and some did not, possibly the fish wasn’t all completely covered in the marinade? Regardless, the crust on the fish looks beautiful!!

    Like

  2. Yum! Love lime with fish…so fresh and I’ve never tried adding honey before…that’s a nice twist. I just made Linda’s (Savoring Every Bite) pecan crusted Tilapia and that was delish too if you need another fish dish anytime soon. Glad yours turned out so great! Also, marinating fish too long tends to macerate it like ceviche. One hour was a good call for a thin fish so ou are all that and a bag of chips (in cookies with chocolate), and yes I find the same thing when I marinate steaks in my pyrex vs. the ziploc bag.

    Like

  3. This looks so tasty! I’ll definitely be coming back to it this Summer on those nights when it’s just too hot to bother with cooking an elaborate meal. Something like this, ready in 10 minutes, will really come in handy. And yes, I can’t wait to see the couscous recipe. 🙂

    Like

  4. How did you know that I was eyeing that couscous?! And I think your crust looks fantastic. It’s actually the first thing I noticed. This sounds like the perfect weeknight meal. Printing this one for sure! 🙂

    Like

    • Just wanted to let you know that we made this for dinner last night. It is FANTASTIC!!!! I know we’ll be making this one again. It was a hit with everyone – and I mean everyone. 🙂

      Like

      • Oh, Kristy, you don’t know how happy it makes me when my recipes are used! 🙂 And even happier knowing that everyone (ahem, Miss A and Mr. N) loved it, too. Woo-hoo!

        Like

  5. Hahaha, I’m going backwards… trying to catch up on blog reading so.. I already know about your couscous:) I love this recipe for its simplicity and the tang of lime would be fabulous. I guess we all love sweet things.. and need to correct now and then! xoxo Smidge

    Like

Comments make me happy.

