Dark Chocolate Mousse

In case you were wondering, the cupcakes were a big hit!

My little guy was one of my helpers when we were making them.  When he saw the finished product, he immediately wanted to eat one.  I told him that he had to wait until his birthday to have an Elmo cupcake.  The next morning, we wished him a happy birthday first thing.  And you know what he did?  He immediately walked over to the cupcakes and demanded one because it was his birthday.

Can’t argue with his logic on that one.  🙂

Anyways, not everyone could partake of the birthday cupcakes this year.  My mom, unfortunately, had surgery several weeks ago and is pretty much on no-solids diet.  And I thought it kinda would suck to be around all sorts of good food and not be able to eat anything.

So, I decided to make her a treat all her own.

The Recipe:

Dark Chocolate Mousse, adapted from Epicurious.com

2 c chilled heavy cream, divided into 3/4 c and 1 1 /4 c

4 large egg yolks

3 T sugar

1 t vanilla

7 oz dark chocolate chips

Heat 3/4 c cream in a 1-quart heavy saucepan until hot. Whisk together yolks, sugar, and a pinch of salt in a metal bowl until combined well, then add hot cream in a slow stream, whisking until combined.  Transfer mixture to saucepan and cook over moderately low heat, stirring constantly, until it registers 160°F on thermometer.  Pour custard through a fine-mesh sieve into a bowl and stir in vanilla.

Melt chocolate in a double boiler or a metal bowl set over a pan of simmering water (or in a glass bowl in a microwave at 50 percent power 3 to 5 minutes), stirring frequently.  Whisk custard into chocolate until smooth, then cool.

Beat remaining 1 1/4 c cream in a bowl with an electric mixer until it just holds stiff peaks.  Whisk one fourth of cream into chocolate custard to lighten, then fold in remaining cream gently but thoroughly.

Spoon mousse into 8 (6-ounce) stemmed glasses or ramekins and chill, covered, at least 6 hours.  Let stand at room temperature about 20 minutes before serving.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

As you can see there are a lot of little things to do on this recipe.  Since I only had one shot to make this correctly, I made sure I had everything pre-measured and set out beforehand (including all the cooking stuff I’d need, too: sieve, multiple bowls, thermometer, etc.)  That helped a lot.  (Gee, maybe I should try that other times as well.)

And everything actually went exactly to recipe.  Yay!

I, of course, had to sample some of the mousse – just to check that it was suitable for consumption.  And it was so good – right up my alley as far as chocolate treats go.  It was very, very rich and not overly sweet – with a lovely texture that made my mouth happy.

My mom was pleasantly surprised by her treat, and I was happy that she could enjoy something fun on the special day.

The funniest part, though, is that my little guy saw her eating it and asked for a bite.  And then another and another.  Before we knew it, he’d eaten half of her serving.  (And yes, this was after he’d had his cupcake, too.)

He’s definitely my chocolate/sweets child.

Takes after his Mama.

14 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate Mousse

  1. Awww.. just look at that cutie pie :). And of course if I sampled this mousse, to make sure it was alright, I think I would’ve ate the whole thing lol. This just looks like something I would eat and LOVE :). Fantastic job Courtney

    Like

  2. Wow! He is such a cutie!!!! Look at that happy birthday boy. 🙂 I love it!!! (We have the same booster too – although now it sits empty. They’re growing up too fast.) And what an awesome daughter you are too Courtney. Love all of the sentimentality in this post. Happy birthday to the little guy again. 🙂

    Like

  3. Have you seen this saying on facebook goes something like this? “Little Johnny I know you really want that last cupcake but mommy will go ape crazy unless she can take a picture for her cooking blog first.” or something like that. I am sure you can totally relate. Love this chocolate mousse.

    Like

  4. Oh, how cute Courtney!! He’s the same little baby from your side pic? Just growing up – too quickly!! I miss those years soo much!! What a sweet daughter you are making your mom something special. I love a good chocolate mousse and this one sounds just right!! I’d be licking the bowl clean!!

    Like

  5. Your little guy looks so deliriously happy and adorable! You are such an awesome mom! ANd daughter! That mousse looks creamy, smooth and soooooooo chocolatey; just the way us chocoholics like it. You must be wiped out from the weekend but it sure looks like it was a big success! I hope your mom’s health improves soon. It must be very hard on her to have to avoid solids. 😦

    Like

Comments make me happy.

