Funfetti Elmo Cupcakes

My baby is turning two tomorrow.

(What? How??)

That’s a big deal.

So, in honor of his love of Elmo, and his love of cupcakes (or as he calls them ‘mmm-tasty, mmm-tasties’), I put together some fun treats for his party.

The Recipe:

White Cake Funfetti Cupcakes, adapted from JoyofBaking.com

(Makes 12. I easily doubled this to make 24.)

2 large eggs

1 3/4 c cake flour, sifted

2 t baking powder

1/4 t salt

1/2 c butter, at room temperature

1 c sugar, divided into 3/4 c and 1/4 c

1 t pure vanilla extract

1/2 c milk

1/8 t cream of tartar

3 T jimmies-style multi-colored sprinkles

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line 12 muffin cups with paper liners.

While eggs are still cold, separate the eggs, placing the yolks in one bowl and the whites in another bowl.  Cover the two bowls with plastic wrap and allow the eggs to come to room temperature before using (about 30 minutes).

In a mixing bowl, sift or whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt.  Set aside. In the bowl of your electric mixer, or with a hand mixer, beat the butter until soft (about 1-2 minutes).  Add 3/4 cup of the sugar and beat until light and fluffy(about 2-3 minutes).  Scrape down the sides of the bowl.  Add egg yolks, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Scrape down the sides of the bowl.  Beat in the vanilla extract.  Then, with the mixer on low-speed, alternately add the flour mixture and milk, in three additions, beginning and ending with the flour.  Add the sprinkles and mix well.

In a clean bowl of your electric mixer, with the whisk attachment, (or with a hand mixer) beat the egg whites until foamy. Add the cream of tartar and continue beating until soft peaks form. Gradually add the remaining 1/4 cup of sugar and continue to beat until stiff peaks form.  With a rubber spatula gently fold a little of the whites into the batter to lighten it, and then fold in the remaining whites until combined.  Do not over mix the batter or it will deflate.

Evenly fill the 12 muffin cups with the batter and bake for about 18 – 20 minutes or until golden browned and a toothpick inserted into a cupcake comes out clean. Remove from oven and place on a wire rack to cool completely.

Elmo Face Decorations

bright red frosting

mini marshmallows

orange peanut butter M&M’s

Oreos, cut in half and separated into 4 half-circles

mini chocolate chips

Using a star-shaped frosting tip, decorate the top of the cupcake.  Add one Oreo piece for mouth, two marshmallows for eyes, and an M&M for the nose.  Attach mini chocolate chips as eye-centers using a tiny dab of frosting.

The Results:

I simply am impressed.  The folding of the egg whites in at the end made such a difference.  These cupcakes are so light and buttery – I’m sure they’re going to be a big hit tomorrow.  I had to stop myself at my single sample, so that we’d have enough for the party, they’re that good.

And the sprinkles add the bright Funfetti colors throughout.  Perfect for the Sesame Street Theme I was going for.

Here they are, pre-frosting.

Now, I’m not going to lie about the decorating.  It was kind of a pain.

And I freely admit that I just bought some red frosting this time (after the Grinch Santa Hat debacle of 2011, I was not going to chance it).  It was so nice to just add the tip to the frosting tube and go.  I’m lazy, what can I say?

Anyways, frosting and decorating 24 cupcakes takes a lot of time and patience.

But they do turn out awfully cute – and I know my little one will love them.  And that’s all that matters, right?

Voila!

An Elmo to be proud of = one happy two year old.

15 thoughts on “Funfetti Elmo Cupcakes

  1. How cute is that! I cannot imagine decorating one cupcake, let alone 2 dozen. I am far too ham-fisted to attempt it. You, on the other hand, did a marvelous job! Way to go, Mom!

    Like

  2. Adorable! I know he will love them! I just made a giant cupcake for Sadie’s birthday photo shoot tomorrow! I will have to make the funfetti ones sometime!

    Like

  3. Happy birthday to your baby Courtney!!!! And you’re right – that is a big deal. 🙂 I think you did a fabulous job on these cupcakes. Can I borrow you this summer? I’m terrible with cupcakes. I don’t think I could even stand frosting them with store-bought frosting. I’m so bad at it. These look just delightful though. Your son is going to have an amazing birthday and a fun party. I have no doubt! Enjoy the day!!!!!! 🙂

    Like

  4. Happy Birthday to your beautiful baby! I think he is more than ready to face the world out of his cot now that he has gotten to eat so many of these wonderfully delicious cupcakes 😀
    WOW!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Like

  5. lalalala lalalala Elmo Song!! That’s so cute! Bet the kids would love them! I made Elmo and Cookie Monster Cupcakes last year for a kid’s birthday party and it was such a hit! haha.. They’re super duper cute!! Oreo cookies are a good idea for the mouth! Would not have thunk that. hahah..

    Like

  6. Awww! This is so adorable. I’m so behind on reading everyone’s posts, my kids are exhausing me and I have very little energy or time to be at my computer. My kids adore your Elmo cupcakes. My 2 y/o started giggling and said, “Melmo!” I bet your little guy loved them too, what a great mommy you are! Happy BIG 2nd Birthday to your little precious guy!

    Like

Comments make me happy.

