Chicken Corn Chowder {Crockpot}

Okay, I’m just going to say it, it’s just not fair!

Many of you readers out there are enjoying warm sunny spring weather and already talking about grilling.  While we, on the other hand, have had a heck of a week filled with snow, rain, wind, rain, monsoon rain, hail, thunderstorms, and, of course, rain.  Gotta love the Pacific Northwest.

I’m jealous.  I want spring, and I want it now.

I’m tired of this March coming in like a lion and staying like a lion.  Where’s our lamb??

Okay, enough complaining for now.

The only silver lining I can find is that at least I still get a chance to make some comforting and hearty dishes in my crockpot.

The Recipe:

Crockpot Chicken Corn Chowder, adapted from Food.com 

2 T butter

1 ½ lbs boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into cubes

½ c onion, chopped

3 celery ribs, sliced

3 carrots, sliced

2 c frozen corn kernels

2 (10 ¾ ounce) cans cream of potato soup

1 ½ c chicken broth

1 t dried dill weed

½ c half-and-half

salt and pepper to taste

In a large skillet, melt the butter or margarine; brown chicken. Transfer chicken to slow cooker.  Add onions and celery to skillet and saute’ for about 3 to 4 minutes, until just tender.  Add the onions and celery to crockpot, along with carrots, corn kernels, soup, chicken broth and dill.  Cover and cook on low 5 to 6 hours or until chicken is done and vegetables are tender.  During the last 10 minutes, stir in the half and half.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

Yesterday’s weather was crazy.  I mean absolutely crazy.  As I attempted to get back into my car from the grocery store (with the boys), Lake Parking Lot had formed under our car.  I had to brave huge gusts of wind and sheets of rain – without my coat (it had been barely sprinkling when we went in the store – and if you wear a coat for that, you’re just a wimp in our neck of the woods).  As I struggled to get the youngest buckled in his car seat, my cart blew free from where I’d lodged it, careened into the middle of Lake Parking Lot and headed straight for a car.  As I dashed after it, I stepped right into the Lake, soaking my feet and leg to mid calf.  It was awesome.  Not really.

Anyways, after driving the 20 minutes home with sopping wet hair and drenched clothing, I was ready to make something toasty warm for dinner and this recipe looked like it was meant for us all.

It was really easy to prep – even cutting the chicken.  Hubs suggested cutting the breasts while they were still partially frozen, and that worked great (especially since it let me skip the whole slimy raw chicken feeling I so love).  Once everything was thrown in the pot, there was nothing left to do except enjoy the smells wafting through my house.

But then I got bored.  So I started thinking… what’s better than warm chowder?  And then it hit me.  Warm chowder in a bread bowl!  Perfect.

So I made some lovely bread bowls that I’ll share in my next post.  In the meantime, check out our amazing meal.

Warm, hearty, and thoroughly satisfying on a blustery day.  The chowder was so tasty – creamy with the delicious chicken chunks and veggies.  And the sun actually made a short appearance while we ate, always a good omen.

Today looks like a milder version of yesterday, weatherwise.

I’m still going to wear my rain boots, though.

Happy Friday!

18 thoughts on “Chicken Corn Chowder {Crockpot}

  1. I have a Corn Chowder recipe for you to try the next time you are in the mood. It might not be as easy as a crockpot recipe, but it is REALLY good! It’s from one of my favorite cookbooks- At Blanchard’s Table http://www.amazon.com/At-Blanchards-Table-Beach-Cookbook/dp/0609610821/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1331914733&sr=8-1

    The Blanchard’s have an award-winning restaurant in Anguilla and this cookbook is filled with recipes from the restaurant. I first heard of them when I read their book A Trip To The Beach about their experience opening this restaurant and they went on write a book called Live What You Love which I picked up when I went to Thailand.

    I loved their philosophy and their books so much that mom and I actually went to Anguilla in 2008 to go to their restaurant. I had to get the corn chowder and compare it to what I had made at home from the cookbook recipe. 🙂 It was delicious!

    Here’s a link to the recipe if you ever want to give it a try:

    http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/member/views/BLANCHARD-S-CORN-CHOWDER-1222025

    Like

  2. The weather has definitely turned into spring time around here, but in typical fashion for SLC, it is supposed to go from 70 degrees to snow this weekend. So it isn’t too late to enjoy some crockpot goodness like what you have here. 😉

    Like

  3. I heard about all the bad weather you’ve been getting. But it isn’t a picnic here either let me tell ya. We don’t have storms, butt he weather changes just like a person changes their shoes everyday lol. I just wish it was a steady temp. But onto this chicken corn chowder… delish! I love the presentation too.. it reminds me of a chicken pot pie but bread bowl style 🙂

    Like

  4. That sounds like a terrible day at the grocery store. I would be the wimp with the jacket. I am such a So. Cal. spoiled brat. Sounds like you had it pretty rough with the cart, the “lake” and the wet shoe. 😦 Glad you all got home safe and sound. No one in my neck of the woods knows how to drive in the rain. You are only allowed to move to So. Cal if you are a horrible rainy day driver…it’s in the Welcome To CA handbook.

    This chowder looks legendary (I am picturing Barney saying it from How I Met your Mother). Creamy, full of veggies, chicken and A HOMEMADE BREAD BOWL! HOLY SHEESH woman…you are beginning to put all of us to shame. I am beginning to feel like i need to crawl under a rock somewhere next time I BUY bread.

    Like

  5. Sorry for your (literal) run-in with Lake Parking Lot. Driving with a soaked foot is just so uncomfortable! You certainly did turn things around, though. This chicken dish is great on its own. Serving it in freshly baked bread bowls must’ve really been something!

    Like

  6. What a challenging day.. those always remind me of the children’s book, “Terrible, Horrible, No Good Very Bad Day!” I felt so sorry for you when you stuck your foot in the lake.. I love how you turned everything around with a recipe that sounds so nourishing.. Isn’t it great how food can do that?? xo Smidge I hope you get sun soon!

    Like

  7. Spring will be coming soon, wow didn’t realize you guys experienced all that crazy weather in one week! It’s bee unseasonably warm in the mid 70’s! This time of year in Michigan it’s in the low 40’s so I’ve been out as much as possible w/ my boys.
    I have never had corn chowder, this looks easy esp since you made it in a crock pot! Have a great weekend!

    Like

  8. You sold me with the bread bowl. Mike keeps mentioning he wants to eat soup in one of those. I just haven’t gotten around to doing it yet. Maybe now that I’m feeling a bit more brave with the bread…And I can totally picture the parking lot scene. I’ve been there. (And my kids would have been laughing up a storm at me!) 😉 I hope some beautiful spring weather comes your way soon!!!!

    Like

  9. Pingback: Easy Italian Bread Bowls « Misadventures in Cooking

  10. I’ve got this in the crock,,, I added potatoes. Unfortunate for me, I misplaced my yeast,,, so no homemade bread bowls. Have to drive to town for that. Hope its yummy!

    Like

  11. My husband is a very, very picky eater. He usually doesn’t like any type of chowder due to a hospital stay from clam chowder.

    I convincingly called this lovely dinner a casserole and he had three helpings. I’ve bookmarked your site and have every intention of cooking everything you have posted eventually. Great stuff here.

    Thank you for helping a non-cook like myself feel like an accomplished master in the kitchen.

    Like

    • Oh, Chelle, you have made my day! (And probably my week, too.) I am so glad your husband enjoyed this and that I’ve helped you feel more comfortable in the kitchen. It’s what I’ve hoped people might get from this blog. 🙂

      Like

Comments make me happy.

