Cinnamon Sugar Doughnuffins

The mojo is slowly working its way back into my life.

And this recipe certainly helped.

It’s the best of two very good worlds: the world of doughnuts and the world of muffins.  In this recipe, I have married these two treats into a union of tasty goodness.

And it took less than 15 minutes to do.

The Recipe:

Cinnamon Sugar Doughnut Muffins, adapted from In Good Taste 

1 c flour

1/2 c sugar

1 T baking powder

2 t cinnamon

1 egg

1/2 c milk

1 t vanilla

4 T vegetable oil

3 T melted butter

2 T sugar and 1 t cinnamon combined in a bowl

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.  Stir dry ingredients together.  Add egg, vanilla, and milk and whisk together for one minute.  Add oil and continue to whisk until well combined.

Grease muffin tin.  Fill each 2/3 way with batter.  Bake for 7-9 minutes.  Allow doughnuffins to cool for a minute or two.  Then brush tops with melted butter and sprinkle sugar mixture on top.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

A little creativity goes a long way to getting back your mojo, let me tell you.

I had seen a more traditional doughnut-flavored muffin on Pinterest that peaked my interest.  And then I remembered that I had found an easy baked doughnut recipe last Spring (that I’d actually remembered to put on my Wish List).  So I thought, why not try putting the ideas together.

And I did.

And it worked really, really well!

One of my favorite parts was that my house smelled like a warm doughnut shop while these were baking.  It made me super excited for them to be ready.

The doughnuffins puff up really tall in the pan, so don’t let that scare you.  And you probably want to leave them in the oven a touch more than you think – a couple of mine were still a little doughy on top, even though the edges were golden brown.  Perhaps a toothpick test might help.

The taste of these was SO good!  Very, very light like a doughnut, but also like a muffin.  Sweet and cinnamon-y (which I admit I cannot even say), with the melted butter and sugar topping on top.  Yummy!  (I even had to invite my friend over to try one while they were still warm, since I didn’t think the boys would truly appreciate them.)

So, for just 15 minutes of your precious time, you can enjoy this delightful breakfast indulgence.

It’s a win-win, I tell you.

And it may just get your creative cooking juices flowing.

27 thoughts on “Cinnamon Sugar Doughnuffins

  1. I’m all over these little guys! 15 minutes? Nice! That topping is especially getting to me. I mean you really can’t go wrong with cinnamon, sugar and butter. Now I’m thinking I may need to make these tonight. LOL! (Did make your Amish bread again tonight – fed it to my parents and they raved about it!) 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: This Week for Dinner – Weekly Meal Plans, Dinner Ideas, Recipes and More!: Donuffins

  3. Oh my gosh, these look so good 😀
    I love how delicious that crusty sugar on top is! Definitely an addictive recipe!
    And thank you for subscribing my friend – I hope I keep up to your expectations 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Like

Comments make me happy.

