Do-Si-Dos Brownies

My cooking mojo has left the building.

I’m trying to get it back, desperately.  And since all my boys are finally home, I’m hoping it’ll show up sometime this week.  In the meantime, I decided to get a little creative and do some fun baking – with one of my most favorite ingredients: Girl Scout Cookies.

As I mentioned last year, our next door neighbors are Girl Scouts, so we somehow end up pretty well stocked with an assortment of cookies each year.  (And it has nothing to do with the fact that we have no self-control.  Really.)

Last year I made the most amazing toffee out of Trefoils (Run, don’t walk to this recipe and make it tonight!  It is truly decadent.)  This year I wanted to feature another tasty cookie and decided to try to make brownies using Do-Si-Dos.  I mean, how can you go wrong with the chocolate peanut butter combination?

The Recipe:

Do-Si-Dos Brownies, inspired by Marilyn Descours

1/2 c butter, softened

2 c sugar

4 eggs

1 t vanilla

1 1/3 c flour

1/2 c cocoa

1/2 t salt

1/4 t baking powder

1 1/4 c peanut butter chips, divided

1 c Do-Si-Dos, crushed

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cream butter and sugar.  Add eggs and vanilla.  Mix together flour, cocoa, salt and baking powder; add gradually to wet ingredients until blended. Add 3/4 peanut butter chips.  Spread into greased 9×13” pan and bake 30-35 minutes.  Remove from oven.  Mix together remaining peanut butter chips and crushed Do-Si-Dos. Top brownies with mixture and bake for an additional 10 – 15 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.

The Results:

I came across the bare bones of this recipe in an old book of recipes that I found.  It was very poorly written or looked over (it actually called for 1 cup vanilla and mentioned mixing in peanuts, which were not even listed in the ingredients), but I thought I could figure it out and fix it up a bit.

I added baking powder and salt, which were not listed – and I added extra peanut butter chips to the batter.  I also messed with the ratio of flour to cocoa powder.  Finally, I took out the marshmallows that were to be a part of the topping.

All of my changes turned out great – except for the marshmallows.  I kind of forgot that the lack of gooey marshmallow might not allow the topping to actually stick to the brownie top.  This turned my topping into basically a crumble on top (that kept falling off).  So my one suggestion to you all is to either add the crumble earlier so it can soak in, or add a cup or two of marshmallows to the topping.

See how it just rests there on top.

If scooping the crumbs and chips back into each bite doesn’t bother you, then you are in for a treat.  The brownies are the perfect chewy texture – but not too doughy.  And the salty crunch of the cookies are a great compliment.

If you just wanted to make the brownies by themselves, they would stand alone just fine.  The bonus of the peanut butter chips give them an extra flavor burst that I love.  I’m actually very impressed that my changes not only worked but worked well in this recipe.

I love taking something that’s amazing as is (like Girl Scout cookies) and making them even better.

(If only the topping had stuck.)

Happy Monday.

13 thoughts on “Do-Si-Dos Brownies

  1. All facts considered, I think you did very well. Sure, the topping could have been less crumble-like but look at all the other changes & additions you made that went well. Next time, you’ll fix the topping and this good dessert will become fantastic. Like I said, you did very well!

    Like

  2. My hats off to you again. Courtney you are down right creative! I don’t think I would have thought of this, let alone been able to pull it off. Nicely done. My kids will be over after school today. LOL. 🙂

    Like

  3. Oooh, this can be dangerous in my house. We are all pb and chocolate lovers! I am so lucky that my boys don’t have a pb allergy; honestly I don’t know what I’d do! Thanks for all your tips, I know where to go for some great dessert recipes now! 🙂 Have a great day!

    Like

  4. Looks like you’ve got your mojo back:) These are pretty, decadent, creative and innovative… what more could a girl ask for, except PB and Chocolate… oh, yah, that’s in there too! We don’t get the variety of girl scout cookies that you do… and that’s a downright shame cause I’d like to try making a pan of these!

    Like

  5. Was the mojo really gone? Have you looked at all your posts?! Dosido brownies sound and look like such a great mix of flavors. You are right, you can never go wrong with peanut butter and chocolate! If someone has trouble with scooping a little cookie crumble onto their brownie, then they are too much of a sissy if you ask me. 😉

    Like

  6. Hey I completely understand.. sometimes when you have a mini vacay, its hard to get back into t he flow of things. I’m sure you will soon :). But in the meantime, you’ve outdone yourself with these brownies.. and since you know how I feel about chocolate, I probably will be making these in my near future lol

    Like

  7. Courtney, are you sure your blog title is for real?? Girl, you are very creative and taking a recipe and making it this delicious is an art….and you’ve got it!! I have to say that if the original recipe called for a cup of vanilla??? it was crazy!! I’ve never heard of that and if you buy the real vanilla, that’s one expensive brownie!! Now I wish my son had not eaten all the Girl Scout cookies I bought!!

    Like

  8. Girl Scout cookies are pretty rare to non-exhistent here in Hong Kong. If they did have them I can imagine the flavor combinations would be a little exotic. Lets see they would have Durian, guava and maybe lychee fruit surprise. Girl scout brownie cookies with Do si Do cookies look yummy. I am going to pour myself a glass of mil and I will be right back. Take care, BAM

    Like

  9. Gotta hate when you have no mojo 😦 Looks like you’re on the right track to getting it back though! These look delicious, and I’m sure the Girl Scout cookies made them that much better!

    Like

  10. I hate it when the cooking mojo leaves the building. I have those days every once in a while where inspiration and harmony are gone. Nothing wrong with PB and chocolate to get one back into the grove though!

    Like

Comments make me happy.

