Coconut Peanut Butter Chocolate Smoothie

I have not been motivated at all to cook this week.

Probably because Hubs and my oldest are out-of-town for most of the week.  And my youngest is in the picky eater stage of toddlerhood.  So basically if I cooked, it would just be for me.  And that just doesn’t seem worth it.

(Now, I have been motivated to do a lot other things in the kitchen… including organizing the cupboards:

and painting the whole kitchen:

It used to be bright green.

These projects may have inhibited my ability to cook anything, too.)

One of the worst things about Hubs being gone, is that I eat horribly.  I tend to snack all day as opposed to meals.  And I grab food on the go while I’m out running errands.  All in all, I am not being a healthy eater.  (Though I have not broken down and gotten pizza rolls or Chef Boyardee Ravioli – which I sadly admit I occasionally eat when Hubs is gone.)

So, when I was craving a little chocolate snack, I looked to my health food friend Lisa, at Smart Food and Fit, for a tasty treat.

And better yet, I found a recipe that the little guy would love as well.  (He’s on a smoothie kick.)

The Recipe:

Coco-Nutty Choco-Chunky Monkey Smoothie, adapted slightly from Smart Food and Fit 

1 c coconut milk

2 T cocoa powder

2 medium-sized frozen bananas, cut into 1 inch pieces

1 T peanut butter

coconut flakes

Blend the coconut milk, cocoa powder, bananas, and peanut butter in a blender until smooth.  Add more liquid to thin out or add ice or more frozen banana’s to thicken.

Pour into a glass, top it off with coconut flakes.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

First off, I have to say I was drawn to this recipe because Lisa admitted that it was her kids that came up with it.  I loved that!  And it gave me a feeling that my little one would like it too.  And he did.

Making the smoothie was pretty easy except for one small thing… peeling and cutting frozen bananas is not easy!  (Note to self, pre-peel and cut bananas and then freeze them, if you’re using them for smoothies.)

I did only have light coconut milk, which doesn’t quite have the flavor of the regular kind.  So after a quick initial taste, I added a dash of vanilla extract and a dash of coconut extract, and they made it perfect.

It’s not an overly sweet smoothie, which I enjoyed.  I loved the salty peanut butter with the creamy coconut flavor – with an extra pop of chocolate and banana.  And it completely filled my chocolate treat craving for the day.  Yay!

Enjoy!

13 thoughts on “Coconut Peanut Butter Chocolate Smoothie

  1. What fun! I know my kids would like this smoothie too. And I’m with you, whenever Mike is away I tend to eat not so healthy. I usually make big giant bowls of pasta which I eat all myself. LOL. 😉 Way to go on painting and organizing!That’s impressive! Love the new color too. 🙂

    Like

  2. If you are gonna blend your banana anyway, you can also just mash it and put it in a baggy and freeze….I do that all the time. It works great! This looks good. Might have to try it!

    Like

  3. I eat the same way when my husband isn’t around, which is most nights since he works 2nd shift! I made chili tonight and considered that a grand accomplishment! The smoothie looks delicious 🙂 This and your energy bites are two things I need to try soon!

    Like

  4. Lisa always seems to have the best recipes for the moment :). And your kitchen looks great Courtney! Just look at that stove.. I am so in love lol. I think I would be cooking up a storm on that stove lol. Maybe it’s good I don’t have one. And you did a great job on organizing girl.

    Like

  5. Love the new RED. It’s gorgeous and your kitchen is so open…must be very nice to cook or bake in. Finally, what the heck? You are organized? I’ll try to let that go. 😉 The smoothie looks delish. and so glad that your little guy enjoyed a little healthy treat together. He let you paint? What a great kid!

    Like

  6. Oh, thanks for the shout out! 🙂 Also, thanks for entering my recipe contest, you should have let your readers know about your entry so they can vote for you!

    I’m impressed that you painted your kitchen all by yourself with little one’s and organized the cupboards! The kitchen looks great and love your stove! I want one just like it! I need to get motivated and do more to my kitchen! Have a great weekend!

    Like

  7. The kitchen looks great–love that color! And I definitely get in funks where cooking is the last thing I want to do. I got out of the rut this weekend and am hoping I stay motivated this week! That smoothie sounds great, and I know it’s also healthy since it’s coming from Lisa! 😉

    Like

Comments make me happy.

