Coconut Pound Cake with Chocolate Glaze

I hate it when I have the best of intentions – and then my intentions fall through.

My plan had been to make this coconut pound cake for a special occasion this weekend, and I blew it.

See, every year for the last four years, we’ve gotten together with friends to celebrate (belated) Valentine’s Day with our kids by having a huge chocolate fondue blowout.  We try to add a couple new items to dip every year, and I was so looking forward to having this pound cake to share.

Unfortunately, life got in the way, and it just didn’t happen.

(Not that we really needed it – look at the spread:

And this was before the macaroons were done cooking.  Plus you can’t see the potato chips on the other side of the fondue pot.)

Anyhow, I was feeling really bad about my lack of contribution, so I decided to make the pound cake anyways – and add a chocolate glaze – so we could at least pretend it was dipped in the fondue.

The Recipes:

Coconut Pound Cake, from A Little Yumminess

2 sticks butter, softened

2 1/2 c sugar

1/2 c coconut milk

1/2 c whole milk

5 eggs

1 T vanilla extract

3 c flour

1/2 t baking powder

1/2 t sea salt

1 c sweetened flake coconut

Preheat oven to 325 and grease two loaf pans.

In the bowl of an electric mixer, whip the butter until light and fluffy.  Slowly add the sugar to the butter and whip on high until light in color and increased in volume.

Whisk together the milks, eggs, vanilla.  In separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder and salt.

With the mixer on low, add the flour and liquid mixtures to the butter/sugar mixture, starting and ending with flour.  Fold the coconut into the batter.  Divide the batter evenly between the two prepared pans.

Bake for 55-65 minutes, or until a skewer inserted in the center comes out clean.

Chocolate Glaze, adapted slightly from Joy the Baker 

1 1/2 c powdered sugar

4 T unsweetened cocoa powder

3 T milk

2 t pure vanilla extract

In a medium bowl, whisk together powdered sugar and cocoa powder.  Slowly stir in milk and vanilla extract.  Whisk until silky and smooth.  If you need a touch more milk, add a bit more.  Drizzle over cake.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

Everything was pretty straight forward…just be aware that you need to grease your pans really well – or you loaf bottoms will look like this:

Both ended up looking like this...

Also be aware that you really need to mix your glaze well – and that probably will include adding a little extra milk since it sets up so fast.  I was so worried about getting it on my cake before it hardened, that I didn’t notice that it wasn’t completely mixed until I took these pictures.

But both of these issues were just cosmetic, though.  The rest of it was just fine.

The cake itself had a light sweet coconut flavor with a dense yet light texture.  I think if I were to make this again, I might substitute on of the tablespoons of vanilla for coconut extract instead. But I love coconut – and in my opinion, food cannot be too coconutty.

As for the glaze – I used a doughnut glaze, so it would set firmly.  It was a little sweet for me, and didn’t quite give the chocolate punch I was hoping for.  It would be great on a doughnut, though.  Again, if I were to do it over, I would probably go with the coconut glaze suggested from the original cake recipe.

Overall, I think this would have been an amazing addition to our fondue repertoire –  so I’m definitely keeping it in mind for next year.

I will now leave you with this happy thought: an almost two-year old with a chocolate fondue soul patch.  🙂

16 thoughts on “Coconut Pound Cake with Chocolate Glaze

  1. Ahhh your almost two year old is so cute and love his big blue eyes. Thanks for the tip on greasing the bottom of pan well, I’m one of those people that try to use very little fat/grease as possible and use parchment paper to fit the bottom of the loaf. I need to buy some coconut flakes soon to add to my baked goods. Have a great day!

    Like

  2. Your quote: “I hate it when I have the best of intentions – and then my intentions fall through.” Don’t be too hard on yourself, you were just showing your human side. Your finished cake looks sumptous and your little fellow has that “It was delicious” look on his preious face.

    Like

  3. So this is the reason your intentions didn’t work out as planned, could it be that gorgeous little sweetheart swept you off your feet and out of the kitchen? What a honey! And that cake is just the kind of coconut cake I’d love with a cup of tea!

    Like

  4. Looks delicious! My husband is not a coconut fan so I usually save coconut treats for special occasions or when I bring food somewhere to share. I will definately have to remember this one!

    Like

  5. Just look at that handsome boy :). I can’t even begin to tell you how much I love this recipe. My mom and I just made a pound cake this weekend and we fell in love with it. Now, I think we should make this.. for this weekend 🙂

    Like

  6. Coconut quick bread? Ooooh. I haven’t tried that before but it sounds and looks ridiculously delicious. My whole fam hates coconut though. Doesn’t that stink? Your fondue party sounds like such a fun way to celebrate with the kids and friends. Love your little guy with his chocolate leftovers. We always ask the kids if they’re saving it for later.

    Like

Comments make me happy.

