Curried Chicken Stew {Crockpot}

I’m not sure why I’m even sharing this recipe.

I think it’s because I’ve promised myself to share the ups and downs of learning to cook – and that means that sometimes (but not as often as in the past), recipes are just not going to turn out that great.

Not that this was horrible, but it certainly was not a favorite for anyone in the house.

I was excited, once again, to use my crockpot for an easy recipe – this time branching out from my typical American or Mexican fare.  I should’ve known my crockpot successes would have to come to an end sometime.

The Recipe:

Curried Chicken Stew, slightly adapted from Better Homes and Gardens, December 2011

6 bone-in chicken thighs

2 t olive oil

6 carrots, cut into 2-inch chunks

1 medium sweet onion, cut into narrow wedges

1 c unsweetened coconut milk

1/4 c panang curry paste

1/4 c cilantro, chopped

Trim excess skin and fat from chicken.  In skillet cook chicken, skin side down, in hot olive oil for 8 minutes, or until browned (do not turn thighs).

In slow cooker, add carrots and onion.  In small bowl, whisk together 1/2 c coconut milk and curry paste.; pour over vegetables.  Place chicken, skin side up, on top of carrots and onions.  Cover.

Cook on high for 3 1/2 to 4 hours or on low for 7 to 8 hours.

Remove chicken, skim off excess fat, and then stir in remaining 1/2 c coconut milk.  Top with cilantro and serve.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

I knew, knew, that I would regret using bone-in chicken thighs.  From my Tortilla Soup recipe last week, I knew that they would make the recipe greasy.  I stuck with them because I was hoping the browning beforehand might leach some of that grease out.  Wrong.

(I think BH&G used the thighs because it’s supposed to be a meal on a budget – but seriously, I have learned my lesson and will be sticking with boneless skinless breast from now on.)

Anyways, it was really easy to put together.

My math skills (or lack thereof) were put to the test when I had to chop the veggies.  Let’s just say my 2-inch carrots did not quite live up to 2 inches.  But my onions were pretty.

Besides the chopping and the browning, it was another dump and go recipe.

Things I wish I’d known before making this:

1.  Our curry paste happens to be extremely hot.  Hubs, apparently, only uses about 1/2 of what is asked in any recipe.  Oops.

2.  Even if it doesn’t say, always, always season your meat.  Otherwise it tastes bland – even after soaking in spicy curry all day.

So basically, it was an extremely hot curry surrounding some very bland and greasy chicken.  Not the most appetizing.

It’s not that I don’t think this recipe is salvageable, it’s just that we have better curry recipes that are just as easy.  But, I’m sure if someone else was motivated enough they could make this much better.  (I even tried to challenge Hubs again, but he said it wasn’t really worth it.)

One really good thing did come out of it though…

(Hint: it’s prominently shown in the picture.)

And I’ll be posting about it later this week.

12 thoughts on “Curried Chicken Stew {Crockpot}

  1. My kids like thighs but, I know what you mean about bland greasy meals I’ve been there and done that. I like how you shared your experience with this recipe and what you would have done differently. I look forward to the naan post too! 🙂

    Like

  2. Who among us hasn’t followed a recipe we thought would be delicious, only to find it anything but? When I saw the title, I looked forward to seeing the recipe but now I’ll look for another curried chicken stew. See? Your experience wasn’t a complete failure. You’ve prevented at least one of your followers from making that recipe. 🙂

    Like

  3. I had one of those nights in the kitchen too. Aggle flabble! (I love that phrase from Knuffle Bunny!) That flat bread on the side looks fantastic! You’re right – if one good thing comes out of it, it’s not a bad thing at all. And I’m going to keep that in mind about chicken thighs and slow cookers because I do like to use them.

    Like

  4. Did you make your own Naan?! I am astounded and so excited to see that post. I have been wanting to make my own Naan, but have ventured there yet. Sorry about the stew. Nice try and we do learn things from even the not so great meals. Have a great weekend!

    Like

  5. Yay for more crock-pot recipes! I’m always looking for new ones now that I have a crock-pot. 😉 Look forward to the naan recipe–so impressed you made it from scratch! I’m sure it was delicioso. x

    Like

  6. Always go with your first gut when you’re cooking. My grandmother use to say that to me all the time.. since we cooked with no recipes. We usually went off of what we felt. And if you feel something isn’t right, throw the recipe out and do what you feel :). I understand they wanted to keep the cost down with bone-in chicken thighs, and truthfully I still would’ve bought them.. but taken the bone out lol. Still cost efficient 🙂

    Like

  7. Cooking is always a learning experience and a trial and error adventure. So even when something doesn’t come out perfect I enjoy hearing about an experience in the kitchen and how to grow from it. Sometimes it only takes a tweak or two to make a dish fantastic. Thanks for sharing and have a great weekend!

    Like

  8. Well the ingredients in this curry sound utterly delicious. Penang curry is one of my favourites. And I do love cooking with chicken thighs on the bone because they add a lot of flavour to the dish. It’s a shame it didn’t turn out better but at least something good came out of it – I’ll stay tuned! Have a lovely weekend.

    Like

Comments make me happy.

