Crockpot Chicken Tortilla Soup

I remember back in the good ‘ole days (meaning last year), when I cooked in a crockpot because I had to.

It was the only way I felt the least bit in control in the kitchen.

(Plus I could do it in the morning when Hubs wouldn’t be able to watch over my shoulder.)

Nowadays, I like that I can pick and choose when to use a crockpot – and I can appreciate it for the wonderful kitchen tool it is.  It makes cooking dinner an absolute breeze and is perfect for this busy mom.  I can’t imagine not having the option to just dump some ingredients in a pot, turn it on, and have a yummy dinner ready a few (or more) short hours later.

This was one of those super easy recipes that yielded an absolutely delicious result.

The Recipe:

Crockpot Chicken Tortilla Soup, adapted slightly from Spark Recipes 

1 lb frozen skinless chicken (shred near end of cooking time)

1 (15-oz) can whole peeled tomatoes, mashed

1 (10-oz) can enchilada sauce

1 medium onion, chopped

1 (4-oz) can chopped green chile peppers

2 cloves garlic, minced

4 c chicken broth

1 t cumin

1 t salt

1/4 t black pepper

10 oz frozen corn

1 can black beans, rinsed

Place chicken, tomatoes, enchilada sauce, onion, green chiles, and garlic into a slow cooker.  Pour in chicken broth, and season with cumin, salt, and pepper.  Stir in corn and black beans.  Cover and cook on Low setting for 6 to 8 hours or on High setting for 3 to 4 hours.  Garnish with crushed tortilla chips, sour cream, shredded cheese, cilantro, or avocados.  Makes 8 servings.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

Simple, quick, gorgeous, flavorful, delicious.

What more could you ask for?

There are a couple minor changes that I would make for next time.  First, I would stick to boneless, skinless chicken breasts.  I used a mix of bone-in thighs, drumsticks, and a breast – and the thighs and drumsticks added a little extra grease that I had to skim off the top.  Plus, shredding them was a lot harder than shredding the breast piece.

Also, I would use a can of diced tomatoes rather than whole tomatoes you have to mash.  Let’s just say my cream-colored sweater is no longer pristinely cream.  (I know, what the heck was I thinking cooking in a cream-colored top.  Lesson learned.)  And I still had giant hunks of tomato in the soup.

Other than those small things, this soup was perfect.  (Especially since it was a blustery rainy night.)

And you gotta have it with all the fixings.

Yum!

15 thoughts on “Crockpot Chicken Tortilla Soup

  1. I love my crockpot… it’s just how food should be cooked.. slow and simmering! My mom used to make a stew in ours growing up and it was the only stew recipe I’d ever eat. This looks fantastic, love the avocado in it! ps even tonight I put a sweater on over my white t-shirt.. I just knew I would spill, lol!

    Like

  2. I LOVE the crock pot. I think it’s a tool that allows us to still be able to cook when we really don’t have the time too. And your soup looks divine. I personally think you’re becoming a pro at cooking 🙂

    Like

  3. Yum! This sounds and looks so good. Crockpots can be so fun and I love the way the house smells too. And I can’t tell you how many white shirts I’ve ruined. I never knew I wore so much white. LOL.

    Like

  4. Its not often that I use my crockpot but when I find the right recipe to do so, I love being able to throw it all in and come home to a wonderful smelling home and dinner ready to go!! I love the deepness of the broth, sounds so delicious!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Curried Chicken Stew {Crockpot} « Misadventures in Cooking

Comments make me happy.

