Better than Oreos, Linzer Valentine Cookies

I promise I’ve made more than just chocolate cookies this week.

(Though there wouldn’t be anything wrong with that, right?)

I just decided this post needed to come out first – so you have enough time to rush out and make these for your sweetheart.

Anyhow, I came to a crossroads this weekend.  I really, really wanted to use my new Linzer Valentine Cookie Cutter (thank you Geni!), and I’d been dying to make a homemade Oreo cookie recipe I found on Pinterest (and yes I double-checked it was what I thought it was).

So I thought, why not meld the two ideas together into one new delicious treat.

And it actually worked!

The Recipe:

Homemade Oreos, adapted from SugarCooking, who adapted from Smitten Kitchen

1 1/3 c all-purpose flour

1/2 c + 1 T unsweetened cocoa

1 t baking soda

1/4 t baking powder

1/4 t salt

1 1/3 c sugar

1/2 c plus 3 T room-temperature, unsalted butter

1 large egg

Set two racks in the middle of the oven. Preheat to 375°F.

In a food processor, or bowl of an electric mixer, thoroughly mix the flour, cocoa, baking soda and powder, salt, and sugar.  While pulsing, or on low speed, add the butter, and then the egg.  Continue processing or mixing until dough comes together in a mass.

To make Oreo-style cookies:

Take rounded teaspoons of batter and place on a parchment paper-lined baking sheet approximately two inches apart.  With moistened hands, slightly flatten the dough.

To make Linzer-style cookies:

Roll out flat between two sheets of wax paper.  Cut out using Linzer cutter – making sure to have an equal amount of bottom cookies and top cookies.

For both:

Bake for 9 minutes, rotating once for even baking.  Set baking sheets on a rack to cool.

~~~~

Filling:

1/4 c room-temperature, unsalted butter

1/4 c vegetable shortening

2 c confectioners sugar

2 t vanilla extract

Place butter and shortening in a mixing bowl, and at low speed, gradually beat in the sugar and vanilla. Turn the mixer on high and beat for 2 to 3 minutes until filling is light and fluffy.

~~~~

To assemble the cookies, in a pastry bag with a 1/2-inch round tip, pipe teaspoon-size blobs of cream into the center of one cookie.  Place another cookie, equal in size to the first, on top of the cream.  Lightly press, to work the filling evenly to the outsides of the cookie.  Continue this process until all the cookies have been sandwiched with cream.

* For the Linzer cookies, I found it was easier to spread the filling with a knife, so as not to overflow the decorative center.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

As I posted on Facebook just a little bit ago: sometimes I even impress myself.

So, in order to make these a little firmer to be rolled out, I fiddled a bit with the amount of dry ingredients and butter (what I used it what’s listed above).  The dough ended up being really firm – perfect for my needs.  And when you roll it out, it will get a tiny bit sticky – which is why the wax paper is a must.

I also enjoyed using the cookie cutter (alone this time – the boys were uninterested in helping).  But it cracked me up when I saw this:

Notice the upside down inner-hearts in the middle.  Ooops – apparently the inner cutter can go in backwards.  I didn’t even realize my mistake until I took this picture.

I also realized that they cookies, as they cooked, spread quite a bit – and some of my inner decorations were distorted or filled in.  But I fixed that right up; I just used the small cookie cutters and re-cut the hearts while the dough was still warm.  (Bonus for me, I got to sample the parts I cut out.)

Finally, I made and then spread a little of the cream filling in between sets of cookies.  And this is the finished product:

These are not exact copycats of Oreos, but I think they’re better.  The cookies are softer and chewier, but still have that deep chocolate Oreo flavor.  And the filling is pretty spot-on, flavor-wise.

I had to make the regular circle shape, too, just for scientific purposes, of course.

I know you want a great big bite of one of those, don’tcha?

Happy Early Valentine’s Day!

15 thoughts on “Better than Oreos, Linzer Valentine Cookies

  1. Wonderful idea!! Those are so cute for Valentine’s Day!! And it’s always fun to play with a new kitchen toy 🙂 So glad those worked out so well for you! Happy Valentine’s Day!!!

    Like

  2. Love the cute heart shapes with the filling inside, so cute for Valentine’s Day! I made them the “oreo” way at Christmas time but put some mint in the filling and they were SO delicious! I’ve been looking for another excuse to make them, never thought of Valentine’s Day- great thinking!!

    Like

  3. Too funny, I’ve just finished an afternoon of baking with my new linzer cookie cutter as well! I guess great minds/bakers think alike;) I’m relieved we’ve done different recipes because then it would get a bit awkward when I post:) I had to laugh, I also put the center piece on backwards and didn’t realize until afterwards. Didn’t you think the different centers were so cute? I made a few of each for my daughter to gift to her boyfriend. Anyway, yours turned out so pretty and are much more valentine’s colored than mine. Beautiful and lush looking!!

    Like

  4. These are just the most wonderful and cutest Vday cookies. Just look at them.. they look decadent and just scream LOVE :). I love these. And did I mention I would love to eat these anytime? Yup.. I would 🙂

    Like

  5. Courtney, your Valentine Linzer Cookies look so pretty and I would love to have those as a lovely gift. Thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday and have a wonderful week!
    Come Back Soon,
    Miz Helen

    Like

Comments make me happy.

