Chicken with Orange Cilantro Relish, Take Two {A Guest Post}

Okay….this is the Husband, and it’s time to set the record straight.  Despite all the “rumors” that have been spread about my influence in the kitchen, your’s truly has been nothing but helpful and encouraging….mostly.  I mean, how many people would so readily subject themselves to the experiments of an aspiring cook.

All kidding aside, it has been fun to watch the passion for cooking and baking grow in Courtney and, with the exception of a very few anomalies, her trials are usually nothing short of excellent.

This time,  I was granted the opportunity to redevelop a recipe. While the original was a mostly flavorful and a creative success, we both agreed it lacked something to take it over the top. So, with the ground-rule of staying as true to the original ingredients as possible, I set out to re-create this simple and healthy dish.

The Recipe:

Chicken with Orange Relish, adapted the adaptation from Good Housekeeping, December 2011

2 bone-in chicken breasts cut in half crosswise and skin removed

ground ginger

garlic powder

salt

pepper

2 small clementine oranges, peeled, de-pithed, and cut into segments

3/4 t grated, peeled fresh ginger

1/2 t garlic pressed or minced

1/4 c fresh squeezed orange juice

1 T red wine vinegar

1 t brown sugar

1 red bell pepper finely minced (I used half red & half yellow for color)

2 green onions, sliced

1/4 c cilantro, chopped

olive oil

For Chicken:

Preheat oven to 425. Pat chicken dry on both sides with paper towel. Sprinkle with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and ground ginger on both sides.  Heat about 2 teaspoons olive oil over medium-high heat in a large, oven proof nonstick skillet. When oil is shimmering and just begins to smoke add chicken, breast side down. Pan sear for 3-5 minutes until nicely browned. Flip chicken and place skillet in the oven. Roast in oven until chicken reaches 160 degrees, approximately 15 minutes

For Relish:

While chicken is in the oven, heat 1 teaspoon olive oil over medium heat in a small sauce pan. Saute garlic and ginger for 1 minute. Add half of the orange segments along with the juice, vinegar, brown sugar, bell pepper and salt to taste.  Bring to a simmer and cook for 5-7 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Remove from heat.  Stir in green onion, cilantro and reserved orange segments. Set aside until chicken is ready to serve.

Kicked Up Couscous:

Prepare couscous according to package directions, except add 1/2 teaspoon minced garlic to the water at the same time as the couscous. When couscous is done, stir in the juice from half a lime, one chopped green onion, and a couple of tablespoons of finely diced bell pepper.

Serve chicken and relish over couscous.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

From my (the Husband’s) perspective, this dish turned out only slightly better than the original.

While the chicken was more moist and flavorful, the relish still had a slight bitter taste to it.  We’re thinking it might be the vinegar.

All in all, a decent dish, but would probably try substituting something like mango or pineapple to give it a little more flavor and sweeten it up a bit.  The couscous was a hit for both of us, and can be dressed up hundreds of different ways.

Even though it wasn’t the home run I was hoping for, it still was a delicious dish.

{Okay, it’s Courtney – now that I’ve stolen the computer back from Hubs.  

I just want to say that he is way too humble.  First off, his chicken blew mine out of the water.  It was so much more flavorful for the pan searing – and a lot more moist for the way he cut the breasts (as opposed to my sad little fillets).   The couscous was also a big hit.  I loved the addition of the lime, onion, and peppers; it added a whole new dimension.

Now the relish we still need to work on.  His version was definitely better than mine.  Less bitter – but something still seemed off.  I didn’t really mention any of your wonderful hints from the original post, just because I wanted it to be all his plan (plus I didn’t want to give him too much of a leg-up on me.)  I’m thinking next time, no vinegar or an uncooked relish. 

Finally, isn’t he the sweetest with the second paragraph!  And I promise I didn’t bribe him to say it. 

Now let’s give him a little comment love – so he’ll be inclined to guest post again.

Thanks everyone!}

12 thoughts on “Chicken with Orange Cilantro Relish, Take Two {A Guest Post}

  1. Hi Courtney, I am taking a (very needed) break from my homework to say HI!!! What a great guest post by the Hubs! That second paragraph was adorable and so sweet. Awesome job!!!! Hugs, Kate

    Like

  2. Great job ‘Hubs’, I am going to try this recipe with a few minor changes and blog about it, so be on the look out for this recipe on my blog…. =) We are gonna figure out how to make this recipe a WINNER!!! The photos are GORGEOUS!!!

    Like

  3. Hi there! I brought my husband into this as well and he suggested the problem might be the acids in the vinegar and the orange juice together might be too much, and agrees with you (Hubs) that a different citrus or other fruit might work better. I still say not cooking it, making it more like a salsa instead and using the apple cider vinegar instead of the red wine. Although I like red wine vinegar, I think the acid in an apple cider vinegar is brighter and lighter and would complement the flavor profile of these ingredients better. You guys gonna do two out of three? 😉

    Like

  4. I have to go on record to say that I am very impressed with the support Hubs has given you. His expertise in the kitchen must be inspiring and “rubbing off” since Courtney is now a “cooking force” to be reckoned with… Hubs must be glimpsing over his shoulder as Courtney has been catching up to the lead (just kidding)… Hubs, your dish looks fantastic, love the tweaks and can’t wait to see you two finally master that relish… xo Smidge

    Like

  5. Awww you guys are just so wonderfully cute :). I agree with you Courtney, I think he did an excellent job with that chicken. I was looking at the photos thinking.. “Wow, very nice”. Loved the duo post.. you guys were just entertaining and fun 🙂

    Like

  6. How did I miss this post? This is such a cute post, wish my hubby would do a guest post! My husband prefers pan seared chicken vs. oven baked (which is my preferred method), the chicken does look juicy and tender. Do you guys want to cook dinner for me tonight? lol Hope to see more duo-guest posts in the future! 🙂

    Like

  7. So sorry I missed this one!I saw your commenton facebook saying you were thinking about having your husband do a guest post and I was looking forward to the outcome of the recipe adaptation
    I have to agree with everyone else, the chicken looks amazing! and I love the additions to the coscos..great job and a lovely post 🙂

    Like

Comments make me happy.

