Vanilla Snow Ice Cream

When life hands you snow (and a lot of it), you make snow ice cream!

At least that’s what we do.

In case you don’t live in the Seattle area, you might be surprised to know that we have no idea what to do when we get say, an inch or two of snow.  And if it’s over a foot (like it is at my house right now), the whole world stops.  Now we have lots of great excuses – the whole area is made of steep hills or we don’t have the equipment to clear it – but in my mind, the world stops because it’s so rare, we just have to take the time to enjoy it – with our families.

And usually, it’s over before we know it, and all that’s left is a bunch of dirty gray slush on the side of the road.

So I’m embracing our stuckness.  Our time together.  And using all the positive energy I can.

(And then secretly hoping it’ll melt tomorrow.  Between a bad cold and the snow, I’ve been stuck at home since Saturday.  And I’m a tad stir-crazy.)

Anyways, to celebrate the snow, we decided to make a little ice cream.

The Recipe:

Vanilla Snow Ice Cream, adapted from allrecipes.com

8 c fresh snow

1 1/2 t vanilla extract

1/2 c sugar

1 c milk

In a very cold bowl (we left our metal one outside for about a half hour before starting), scoop in 8 cups of snow.  Add other ingredients and mix well.

Serve in cold bowls – in a toasty room.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

My oldest could not have been any happier at my suggestion.  He was dressed and ready to head outside in 20 seconds flat.  And I’m not exaggerating.

He was the official ice cream scooper – and loved every minute (though it was a little bright out).

And he pretty much added all the other ingredients, too.

 And mixed it up.

Hey, wait a minute…did I do any work at all?   (I’m okay with that.  Really.)

It was actually pretty tasty.  Definitely not your typical ice cream texture – more of a slushy/frozen yogurt feel, but the flavor was sweet and vanilla-y.  We all found it enjoyable.

(And it gave us something to do for a little bit.  Yay!)

 My oldest is already asking if we can make chocolate next time…

Why not?  We have plenty of snow to go around. 🙂

12 thoughts on “Vanilla Snow Ice Cream

  1. Awww look at that adorable little one :). He looks so happy to be making snow ice cream. I would be too lol. I would’ve never come up with this idea, but that doesn’t mean I won’t use this recipe :). And I am surprised everything stops where you are. We get a foot of snow, depending on how the roads are, some schools may be open and jobs too lol. I used to not like that but such is life living in the north east lol

    Like

  2. Isn’t it great when you don’t do any of the cooking?! LOL! I LOVE this idea and my kids would too. So fun and creative Courtney! Miss A was sitting next to me as I was reading this and she was very excited to see another kid cooking too. 😉

    Like

  3. That is a totally new idea to me and I love it! the kids would go crazy for it too.
    Snow is very rare here too and when it happens everything freezes literally but still I wish it would snow this year, the kids love it.
    I hope your cold is all better soon

    Like

  4. Omg, this is the first time I’ve heard of this. Brilliant! It finally snowed today and I’m catching up on reading blog posts and wish I would have read this earlier. I think we are getting more snow this weekend. My kids are going to love this!

    This year in Michigan (Detroit area), the weather has been warmer than normal temps, like in the high 40’s to mid 50’s! Today, it was cold and we got like a few inches of snow. My 5 year was crying the other day b/c he said Frosty the snowman wasn’t coming to town and we had to go up north to visit him. It broke my heart to see him crying, I told him he’s coming but late…..I hope!

    Like

  5. I’ve never seen snow ice cream! How fun and your oldest looks like he is really enjoying it. Times like this are totally priceless, HOWEVER, being homebound is never fun for very long…at least for extroverts. I do hope you get out of the house soon and hope your cold is better FAST and hope the snow subsides to give you a chance for a little escape. Take care of yourself!

    Like

  6. I had never seen this done before! Oh my kids would have loved it!! We originally were from the North – snow area when they were little and would have wanted to do this every day!!! You’re son is adorable!!

    Like

Comments make me happy.

