Peanut Butter Cookies with Bittersweet Chocolate Chips

I’ve determined two new things that are dangerous in my baking life:

1.  Evenings alone (while Hubs and Oldest are skiing, and youngest is asleep)

2.  Overstocked Ghiradelli chocolate chips on clearance

These two things came together in a perfect storm kind of way the other night.  And I was okay with it.

I hope you will be, too.

(When I stopped by the grocery store earlier in the day, I saw the bittersweet chocolate chips on clearance – and I knew there had to be a tasty way to incorporated them into a recipe of some sorts.  So I bought a bag (or two).  And I was still sort of digging the whole rich/sweet/salty idea from last week’s cookie recipe.  I immediately thought the chips would be perfect in a peanut butter cookie.)

The Recipe:

Peanut Butter Bittersweet Chocolate Chip Cookies, adapted from Cully’s Kitchen

1/2 c butter, softened

3/4 c peanut butter

1/2 c sugar

1/2 c brown sugar, firmly packed

1 large egg

1/2 t vanilla

1 c all-purpose flour

3/4 t baking soda

8 oz bittersweet chocolate chips

Cream the butter and peanut butter together until fully incorporated.  Add the sugars and cream on medium speed.  Add the egg and vanilla and mix until completely incorporated.  Add the flour and baking soda mix until no white remains, then add the chocolate and mix on low just until everything comes together.

Drop by teaspoonfuls onto parchment-lined baking sheets.  Bake at 350° for 10 minutes or until barely golden brown.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

Now this recipe is not for the typical milk chocolate lover.  You have to be a lover of all things dark chocolate to fully appreciate the flavors of these cookies.  And I happen to be a lover of dark chocolate – so, to me, these were absolutely heavenly.

Each bite had the perfect balance of rich/sweet/salty that I mentioned earlier.

And it was not a good thing I was all alone with them.

(Now, I had no camera when baking since the boys took it with them to the mountain, but that was okay.  Because the next day, when I took these outside, you can see all the glorious snow that had fallen – around the plate.)

And the next day, the texture had changed into a barely crispy, Chips Ahoy-esque crunch that Greg and Geni might enjoy…

Now, what to do with that extra bag of bittersweet chips…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On another note, the winner of the Sur la Table giftcard is….

True Random Number Generator Min: Max:
Result:23  Powered by RANDOM.ORG
Commenter 23!!  Congrats to Geni, from Sweet and Crumby!  I will be emailing you about how to collect your prize.
12 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Cookies with Bittersweet Chocolate Chips

  1. I’m completely OK with this…the cookies sound incredible! Peanut butter cookies are by far my favorite kind (but you know I would exclude the chocolate chips because I’m crazy like that). 😉

    Like

  2. I keep meaning to tell you congrats on your one year blogoversary! Sorry for the delay, but congrats and keep up the good work! You’re doing a great job and it’s really fun to watch your progress. As for these cookies, they look delicious! I totally stock up on chocolate chips when they’re on sale, and save them for when a chocolate craving or baking craving hits. I’m sure you’ll find something scrumptious for your choc chips 🙂

    Like

  3. Pictures in the snow! How lovely. I do not like peanut butter, but I will be a nice girlfriend and save this recipe for my boyfriend who adores it, and especially adores peanut butter cookies. Maybe bittersweet choc chips would make me like them more…?

    Like

Comments make me happy.

