Salted Double Chocolate Chip Cookies

It’d been a full week into the new year, and I realized that I had yet to make something with chocolate.

An appalling problem that needed to rectified ASAP.

Since I was pretty much home alone (youngest asleep, oldest and Hubs out for skiing lessons), I had nothing stopping me – and I had the perfect recipe all picked out from my Resolutions list.  (I know, I know, two resolutions in a row!  I really don’t think I’ll be able to keep up this pace.)

If I was going to go chocolate, I was going all the way.  And these certainly fit the bill.

My only (small) complication, was converting some of the ingredients to US Customary units (aka, the ones I usually use as opposed to the metric units).   I did my best.

The Recipe:

Salted Double Chocolate Chip Cookies, adapted from Clever Muffin

1 stick butter, softened

½ c firmly packed brown sugar

½ c white sugar

1 t vanilla extract

1 large egg

1 c flour

4 T unsweetened cocoa

½ t baking powder

8 oz semi sweet chocolate chips

sea salt, for sprinkling

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line cookie tray with parchment paper.

Beat butter and both sugars together until well creamed.  Add egg and vanilla extract and beat together.  Put flour, cocoa and baking powder in your bowl and mix together.  Fold in chocolate chips.

Drop by the teaspoonful onto baking sheet (I used a small ice cream scoop) and flatten a bit with a fork.  Cook for 8-10 minutes, turning  half way. Eight minutes are usually plenty – they may look underdone.  Sprinkle tops with a pinch of sea salt.  Transfer to wire rack to cool.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

Like I said, converting was the hardest, and most of the time, I just rounded.  Here are a couple of conversion sites I found helpful…

For temperature: Cookaz.com

For specific food products: Traditionaloven.com

For a ton of conversion tables: Chef in Disguise

Once I had all that figured out, the rest was quite simple.

Again, I want to reiterate how much I love my new mixer blade.  It is just plain awesome!  (I do have to admit the only down-side is that it’s a little hard to clean out, but if you like to lick clean the attachments for a little pre-taste, then it’s perfect.)

Doesn't the dough just look like chocolately goodness?!

I’m not sure if it was the conversion change or the fact that I didn’t roll the dough into balls, but my cookies were kind of flat and funky shaped compared to Aimee’s.  But they certainly did not lack for chocolately flavor.

These lovely morsels are very, very rich.  And not too sweet, which is a plus in my book.   They were so rich, that I really felt they needed a touch of something to provide a little extra depth.  Since I’ve seen salted caramel everywhere, I thought, why not salted chocolate, too??

And let me tell you, I am a genius!  (And obviously very humble.)

That tiny bit of salt made an already delicious cookie absolutely divine.  Di-vine, I tell you!

Yep, I’m pretty proud of myself right about now.

(And maybe on a little bit of a chocolate high.)

15 thoughts on “Salted Double Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. So glad you liked them! I’m going to have to try them with sea salt next time too! And I think they look just how they would look if I didn’t roll them. Sometimes I think I have cookie OCD and need them all to be round before I cook them. Using a ice cream scoop sounds like a much easier idea.

    I’m so glad they converted to imperial OK and all the ingredients translated, I have had a few American to metric disasters!

    Like

  2. I agree, if there’s salted caramel, why not salted chocolate… these must have tasted so fantastic with that little extra touch. I love Aimee’s recipes as well… this one looks like a keeper!

    Like

  3. Oh.. I LOVE how you think. Chocolate for the new year is such a wonderful thing lol. And you’ve outdone yourself with this amazing double chocolate chip cookie recipe. I can totally see myself making this.. just for me 🙂

    Like

  4. Salted double chocolate?! You ARE a genius. I agree! Your cookies look to die for! PS…I just got the Kitchen Aid bowl scraping blade per your recommendation. Can’t wait to try it! Hope you have a great week!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Peanut Butter Cookies with Bittersweet Chocolate Chips « Misadventures in Cooking

Comments make me happy.

