Mint Capped Brownie Cookie Cups

I’m a slacker on vacation.

In my world as a stay at home mom, Hub’s vacations are my vacations – because that means there’s someone around to help amuse the kids, fix the daytime meals, and provide me with endless adult conversation.  I love it.  Really, truly love it – and Hubs is home from Christmas Eve to all the way past New Years.  It’s my favorite Christmas present every year.

So, you’d think that would just give me more time to focus on cooking and baking, right?

Nope.  It’s kind of been the opposite.  My husband has been baking with the boys (which they all adore), planning all our meals, and cooking away – not leaving a lot for me to do.  And I’ve been okay with that.  Actually, it’s been fantastic.  I’ve read three books already since Christmas, so I’m in a bit of my own heaven.

But this little recipe has been calling to me for the last week.  It’s from a friend of mine, and I had been ready to make it for all the holiday festivities.  I didn’t, though, because – as I stated earlier – I’m a slacker.  On vacation.

Yesterday, I finally mustered up my energy to put down my book, take out all the Christmas goodies I’d purchased to make these, and got to baking.

The Recipe:

Mint Capped Brownie Cookie Cups, from my friend Julia

48 Hershey’s Mint Truffle Kisses

2/3 c butter or margarine, softened

1-1/4 c granulated sugar

1 T water

1 t vanilla extract

2 eggs

1-1/2 c flour

½ c  powdered baking cocoa

½ t salt

¼ t baking soda

Heat oven to 350 degrees.  Line mini muffin cups with paper or foil liners.  Remove wrappers from Kisses.

Beat butter, granulated sugar, water and vanilla in large bowl on medium speed of mixer until blended.  Add eggs; beat well.

Stir together flour, cocoa powder, salt, and baking soda.  Gradually add to butter/sugar mixture, beating on low-speed just until blended.  If necessary refrigerate dough until firm enough to handle.  Shape dough into 1-inch balls.  (I just scooped it into the cups with a small scooper, the dough was so gooey).

Bake for 11-13 minutes or until cookie surface is set.  Cookies will appear soft and moist.  Do not overbake.  Cool about 5 minutes on a wire rack.  Press a chocolate kiss into the top of each cookie and continue to cool completely.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

Okay, so I have to be honest here… I may have had an ulterior motive for making these cookies (besides just the overall enjoyment of mint and chocolate).  I wanted to try out my first official cooking gadget – asked by me, purchased for me, and completely loved by me!

ooooh, ahhhh

Seriously, if you are a baker and have a KitchenAid, you have to get this.  It is amazing and scrapes the sides of the bowl like a dream.  I never thought something in the kitchen could make me so happy, but this truly did.

Anyways, back to the baking.  🙂

These little cookie bites were really easy to make – though I had absolutely no patience to put them in the fridge to let the dough set.  So they were a bit gooey when I placed them in the cups.

I also learned that if they’re not smooth balls of cookie when you place them in the tin, they will not turn out as smooth cookies at the end.  They pretty much hold their crazy shape.

But, once you add your kisses, you really can’t tell.  (Oh, and I strongly recommend having all your Kisses pre-unwrapped, otherwise you might miss the window of opportunity to place them in the cookie – where it’s firm enough to hold it, but soft enough to let it melt in a bit.)

The pros of these little guys, is that they’re little – you can eat a few without feeling too bad.  Plus they pack a lot of flavor in a little bite – the mint and chocolate is divine, of course.

The cons of them is that they’re little – you can eat a whole bunch of them without thinking about it at all.

The other thing I like about them, is that you can change the Kiss variety you use and probably get a whole other delicious cookie – so they’re not just limited to the winter holidays.   I think I’d really like to try them with a Dark Chocolate Kiss or perhaps a Coconut Creme one.  I bet they’d be great, too.

Now I’m off to return to my slacking. 🙂

I hope you all had a very Merry Christmas!  And I promise to be more on the ball after New Years.

11 thoughts on “Mint Capped Brownie Cookie Cups

  1. Wow.. these cookies look absolutely amazing. I love it. And you know how I am about chocolate. And if I may, What kind of blade is that? I just got my mom her first KitchenAid and maybe I can help her out by getting this as well 🙂

    Like

  2. I wish I had a mixer like that and that blade looks cool. I have an ancient hand held mixer! This looks like a fun cookie recipe to bake w/ my boys! What a fun mom you are! Hope you had a wonderful Christmas and Happy New Year! 🙂

    Like

  3. I love your vacation! After this last week, I don’t want to cook for a month (well at least for a few days). 🙂 Mike’s on vacation for a few weeks too – joys of being a college professor – I’m loving every minute of it. Have a great time and a great New Year’s Courtney!!!

    Like

  4. I NEED that KitchenAid attachment, oh my gosh!! Looks like it would work wonders. I’m in the same boat re not wanting to bake on vacation. I’ve been off work since before Christmas, and don’t go back until after new years, like your husband. I’ve kind of left it to the rest of the family to take care of the cooking!

    Like

  5. Pingback: 2011 round up « Chef in disguise

  6. These look amazing – and I’m super jealous you’ve read three books since Christmas. This is suppose to be a relaxing time of the year, but it just seems to me to be non stop the whole time. And now I want a brownie… 🙂

    Like

Comments make me happy.

