Banana Chocolate Chip Coffee Cake

I’m getting complaints.

(Not from you all, but from Hubs.)

Apparently, he’s irritated when I make a delicious, amazing recipe – and then proceed to never make it again.

Now, I’ve informed him that there are many fantastic main dishes I’ve made over and over again (White Bean Chicken Chili, Very Lemon Chicken, and Panzanella Salad – just to name a few).  He then clarified and said what he was referring to was my baking; more specifically desserts.

I find I cannot fault him, as I remember some of the delectable treats I’ve made over the last (almost) year – like Trefoil Toffee, Dark Chocolate Souffle Cake, or Homemade Graham Crackers.  I agree with him in some respects, but I personally also find it a bit boring to make the same thing twice.  I like the challenge of baking something new – and the anticipation of whether or not it will fail, meet, or exceed my expectations.

So when he asked for a goodie for us to enjoy with an afternoon decaf coffee, I compromised.  I knew he wanted me to make the Banana Chocolate Chip Streusel Muffins, so I looked around blogland and instead found a recipe with the same idea, just in coffee cake form instead.

The Recipe:

Banana Chocolate Chip Coffee Cake, adapted from Buns in my Oven

1  c semi-sweet chocolate chips

2/3 c (packed) golden brown sugar

1 T ground cinnamon

1 1/2 c flour

3/4 t baking soda

3/4 t baking powder

1/4 t salt

3/4 c sugar

1/2 c (1 stick) butter, room temperature

1 large egg

1 1/3 c mashed very ripe bananas (about 3 large)

3 T buttermilk

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Butter and an 8×8 inch baking dish.

Stir chocolate chips, brown sugar, and cinnamon in small bowl until well blended; set streusel aside.

Sift or stir together flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt into medium bowl.

Beat sugar, butter, and egg in a large bowl until fluffy.  Mix in mashed bananas and buttermilk. Add flour mixture and blend well.

Spread half of batter in prepared baking pan.  Sprinkle with half of streusel.  Repeat with remaining batter and streusel.  Bake coffee cake until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean, about 45 minutes.  Cool for about 10 minutes and serve.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

I think I could have aptly named this recipe, the “mix-up everything, substitute away, but somehow still successful Banana CC Coffee Cake” – because seriously, with everything I did wrong, I can’t believe it came out right.

Ummm, let’s start with the streusel.  Well, turns out that I didn’t have any brown sugar – so I looked it up and found you could make your own with regular sugar, molasses, and a food processor.  Done!

The next thing I did wrong was to add my sugar to the dry ingredients, instead of adding it to the butter.  Oops.

Then I just added banana pieces to the batter instead of pre-mashing them.

Oh, and I also didn’t have any buttermilk – but I did have buttermilk powder.  I pretty much ignored the directions on the carton, and just mixed in the water and powder at the same time (which apparently you are not supposed to do).  At that point, I just thought, oh, well…

One thing I did do correctly, was layer the batter and streusel – something I was very excited about.  How can you not love extra chocolate and streusel through the middle of each bite?!  (And a threw in some chopped mixed nuts we had, just to add a little crunch.)

I was really kind of worried as it baked away in the oven.  I did not want to hear about my mistakes from Hubs and/or get an I told you so about using a recipe I’d succeeded at before.  But, you know what?  It turned out just fine.

Now, I did learn a valuable lesson while testing the cake to see if it was done: when you stick a toothpick in a cake that has a layer with chocolate chips in the middle, it will not ever come out clean – it will be coated with chocolate every time.  So I just did my best guess when it was done.  (And I was right.)

To be brutally honest with you, it is a very, very sweet coffee cake.  The flavor and texture are great, but I don’t think I could eat this as a stand alone – it definitely needs the coffee to cut into the richness.  But, with the coffee, it is decadently good.

And the best part…

No complaints.

12 thoughts on “Banana Chocolate Chip Coffee Cake

  1. I’m the exact same way, I love finding/trying out new recipes. My family used to get irritated too, but now they understand why I don’t repeat dishes–I need new material for the blog! haha. But, I do still try to make their favorites. This coffee cake sounds delicious. 🙂

    Like

  2. Gotta love a forgiving recipe! This looks great! And the extra layer of steusel in the middle seems divine!! Good job with making your husband happy, while still getting to try something new!! 🙂

    Like

  3. I know exactly what you mean. Sometimes our family faves fall by the wayside since I am trying to be creative and trying to post something different. I am so happy that your banana cake was successful after the tumultuous process. Sometimes, we are happily surprised by our outcomes. Yay for that and yay for no complaints.

    Like

  4. I have to say I completely understand when you say it’s a bit boring to make something twice. I love the challenge of making something new all the time, too. In fact, I rarely repeat my recipes except for those that are really extremely tasty 😀 The only time I bake the same stuff is during Christmas and Easter 😀 I think you can say you created the recipe by yourself and it’s great it turned out well. It looks really tasty!

    Like

Comments make me happy.

