Mom’s Famous Green Beans

I bet you sometimes think I’ve given up on the dinner once a week.

I do admit that occasionally, I skip my meal, but most of the time, I still make something.  It just happens to be something that I’ve made before.  And you really don’t want to read a post about what I’ve already cooked, do you?  (Usually, it’s extremely boring since I actually know what I’m doing.)

What I’ve found, though, is that I am definitely lacking when it comes to making side dishes.  I’m usually so focused on my main dish (unless it’s a crock pot special) that I almost forget that I should serve a balanced meal.  Maybe even with a non-starchy vegetable.

So last night, I was making this recipe (by the way, do not replace the tilapia with an oily fish – it does not come out good), and I realized that since it was so simple, I could focus on some tasty side dishes.  With a little advice, I went with rice and green beans.

(Now, I’ll have you know that this was the first time I’d made three, yes three, dishes at once.  They weren’t complicated, mind you, but I still had to focus on each dish and time everything the best I could.  It was a little stressful, but I did it.)

This green bean recipe I’m sharing is simple and very, very tasty.  My mom has made it for years – and it has turned many a green bean hater (aka Hubs) into a green bean lover.  It’s requested at pretty much all family gatherings.

The Recipe:

Mom’s Famous Green Beans (this only serves 3, so you may want to double or triple if serving to a large group), adapted slightly by Hubs

4 slices bacon, chopped into small pieces

1/4 onion, diced

two handfuls of fresh green beans

2-3 T broth of your choice (I used beef, since we had some leftover from French Dips.)

Heat bacon in skillet until just starting to get crispy.  Add onion and stir until translucent.  Drop in green beans and mix.  Add broth to keep moist.  Let cook for 10 or so minutes until green beans are slightly soft, but still have a little crunch.  Do not overcook.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

I have been eating this dish for years, so I knew what I was working towards.  (And it was kind of a good thing, since my other dishes pretty much bombed.)

I even started out forgetting the directions and heating the bacon and onion together.  And it still turned out good.  I really wish I could share the scent of those two sizzling away together – mmm, mmm, it smelled so good.

Fresh green beans are so much better than the canned kind.  I really can not remember the last time I had veggies out of a can.  (And that makes me feel good.)

The broth turned the onions and bacon a dark, dark brown, so don’t be worried if that happens to you.

I was so thankful that I had chosen this as one of my dishes.  Otherwise, I think we may have starved.

(I am not going to share the rice recipe because it was just so boring, and like I said earlier, if you make the fish dish – be sure to use actual tilapia, please.)

At least something turned out right.  Bonus points for it being a veggie, too!  🙂

13 thoughts on “Mom’s Famous Green Beans

  1. I must give proper credit to Great great Auntie Cleo who made these on the farm when I was growing up….She also raised the pig, cured the bacon, grew the onions and green beans. She is the best cook I have ever met!

    Like

Comments make me happy.

