Coconut Mocha Muffins

Sometimes you just want to try something new.

Something you haven’t seen before, but something that sounds delicious.

Sometimes this something will work, sometimes not, and sometimes you know exactly what it needs in order to be fixed.

(Are you tired of the sometimes/somethings yet?  One more and I’ll stop.  I promise.)

This was one of those sometimes.

(You’ll have to read on to find out which one.  🙂 )

The Recipe:

Coconut Mocha Muffins, adapted from Alli’n’son’s Peppermint Mocha Muffins

2 c flour

1/4 c cocoa powder

1/2 c granulated sugar

3 t baking powder

1/2 t salt

1 c sweetened coconut

1 T instant coffee

1/4 c hot water

3/4 t coconut extract

1 egg, beaten

3/4 c milk

1/3 c canola oil

~~~~

3 T sugar

2 T brown sugar

1 T coconut

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Line a muffin tin with paper liners, or spray with nonstick spray.

In a medium bowl combine the flour, cocoa powder, sugar, baking powder, salt and coconut.  Stir to combine.

In a small bowl combine the instant coffee and hot water.  Stir until dissolved.  To the flour mixture stir in the coffee, coconut extract, egg, milk and canola oil.  Stir until just combined.  Spoon batter into prepared muffin tin.

Combine the sugars and coconut.  Sprinkle over muffins.

Bake at 375 degrees for 15-18 minutes.  Cool for 5 minutes in the tin, then remove to a wire rack.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

The original recipe was a peppermint mocha muffin (great minds think alike), but since I had just done this very successful recipe, I decided I wanted to try to alter it into a new and more original recipe.  I had no idea whatsoever what it would turn out like…

Everything started out great.  The batter was easy to make and smelled heavenly with the coconut extract.

They looked especially good heading into the oven.  I was so excited to use a topping – since the last one I had utilized had turned out so good.

When they came out, though, they kinda had this odd beige-ish look to them.

And, to be brutally honest, they didn’t taste that great.  The muffin-tops, with the extra sugar were fine, but the bulk of the muffin was kind of blah – and even left a bit of a bitter aftertaste.

Usually, I would just be done then – toss them out and move on… but instead I thought about them.  A lot.  (I know, it’s a scary new thing for me to ponder what I’ve cooked.)

Anyways, I realized that I had replaced the chocolate chips from the original recipe with coconut.  And the coconut, when cooked, didn’t have a whole lot of sweet flavor to it.  And then I thought maybe that extra sweet of chips might be the trick to these tasting good.

Of course, I don’t have any extra chips right now.  And we’re kind of booked and busy for the next two days.  But I vow to make these work.

Because I know that this is a really good idea, that just needs a little tweaking.

9 thoughts on “Coconut Mocha Muffins

  1. I was thinking when reading this.. she needs more chocolate LOL. Whenever a dish doesn’t come out right, that I make, I think a lot about it too. It’s nice to fix dishes or come up with a whole new dish. I think you should try it again whenever you have time 🙂

    Like

  2. with that much cocoa and flour you don’t have enough sugar… 🙂 i would increase the sugar a bit and add chocolate chips or maybe add a little sweetened condensed milk? that would make them nice and moist, too?? i don;t know, i’m just spit balling here! 🙂

    Like

  3. I love how adventurous you are with your baking. I’m so nervous to try altering baking recipes. Now regular meals – sure thing. I’ll alter until the recipe is unrecognizable, but baking….too nervous. Can’t wait to see your tweaks to this. 🙂

    Like

  4. I’m with Kristy, I’m typically wary about altering desserts because I’m petrified I’ll completely ruin the recipe–unless I’m feeling uber confident that day, then I’ll give it a try haha. Though these weren’t as sweet as you like, they don’t look like a disaster at all to me! Look forward to seeing how you alter the muffins. I’m sure they’ll be deeelicious. 🙂

    Like

  5. I think you are on to something Courtney. The chocolate chips AND coconut might be the way to go. Also, coconut extract is VERY powerful. If it’s a natural one, not imitation, it doesn’ have as much of an after taste but 1/2 t. is probably good. The natural extracts can be hard to find. If you have a Whole Foods near you, then you can get it there along with the natural peppermint extract which is really nice too. I applaud you for being creative. It’s so fun and is bound to turn out some just misses as well as many hits.

    Like

  6. Hi Courtney,
    I wish one of these muffins was in front of me right now, it would be so good. Hope you are having a great week end and thanks so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday.
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

    Like

Comments make me happy.

