Pumpkin Pie

I know, I know, I know.  Pumpkin Pie is so last week.

But this blog is not all about being on trend.  It’s about keeping track of my (mis)adventures.

And when I was getting ready to bake for Thanksgiving, I was prepared for the cupcakes to give me a run for my money (they didn’t) – and the pumpkin pie to be the easy one (it wasn’t).

So I thought I should share.

Pumpkin Pie, adapted slightly from Sweet and Crumby

1 (9-inch) unbaked deep dish pie crust (scroll down to Pate Brisee recipe)

3/4 c sugar

1 t ground cinnamon

1/2 t salt

1/2 t ground ginger

1/4 t ground cloves

1/4 t ground nutmeg

3 eggs

1 (15-ounce) can Libby’s 100% Pure Pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie filling)

1 (12 fluid ounce) can evaporated milk

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

In a small mixing bowl, combine sugar through nutmeg.  In a large bowl beat together eggs and pumpkin puree.  Add the dry ingredients to the pumpkin puree.  Slowly add the can of evaporated milk and combine thoroughly.

Pour into an unbaked pie shell and cover the edges with aluminum foil.   Bake at 425 for 15 minutes.  Then turn the oven down to 350 and bake for an additional 30-40 minutes or until pie filling is firm.

Cool completely before refrigerating.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

I honestly thought this was going to be such an easy dish to make.  I even waited until the last-minute to make it (aka, 7:30 Thanksgiving Eve).  Not my best thinking…

Lessons Learned:

1.  I still have a problem making shapes.  This is supposed to be a circle.

2. A cake pan is not the same thing as a pie pan – thank goodness Hubs noticed before I added the filling.

And it looked so pretty, too.

3. You can, in fact, re-roll pie crust successfully – and shape-wise, second time’s a charm.  🙂

An actual circle, Yay!

4. Grinding cloves in a grinder can be dangerous to your eyes – if you decide to open it before the motor has stopped.

(Sorry no pictures of this lovely moment.)

5. You might want to make sure your filling is completely mixed before adding it to your crust.

I tried to swirl the unmixed stuff around, but then you could see the swirl.

6. Any fixes or mistakes you make, often become obvious when it is cooked.

7.  Pumpkin Pie needs to cool completely before refrigeration – that means you many not get to bed until well after 11 on Thanksgiving Eve – and still have to get up at 5:30 with your children.

8. Your mom might look at you funny when you ask Hubs for a little tutorial on how to make fresh whipped cream.  (I’d never made it before and definitely did not want to mess it up.)

9.  Thanksgiving dishes, clean-up, and dessert service may limit your ability to get any pictures of the finished pie.

I do have to admit, I did get rave reviews on the flavor – I just told everyone to close their eyes when eating.  Hubs, who is not a fan of pumpkin pie actually ate several pieces over the last couple of days.  And my youngest LOVED it – after every bite he’d say, “Tasty!” – a new word for him.

I thought it was pretty good.  It was definitely a lighter flavor than most I’ve had from the store.  And the crust turned out fine.  Really.  Overall, it was a good, all-around, traditional pumpkin pie, though obviously homemade.

I’m proud that I actually contributed to our Thanksgiving meal – a first for me.

(And I’ll work up to the turkey over the next couple years.  I hope.  No promises.)

12 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pie

  1. not too shabby for your first go around! practice makes perfect! if you would like to make another and send it my way, i’d be happy to be your guinea pig! 😉

    Like

  2. Hey, I think it still looks pretty dang delicious, Courtney! Especially since it’s all homemade–that’s the way to go. I would gladly eat a large slice of that pie right now. 🙂

    Like

  3. It looks good to me! And I didn’t know how to make whipped cream until a few weeks ago either. 🙂 I give you credit for whipping this together. I’ve never tried a pumpkin pie before and honestly, yours looks pretty darn good to me. I hope your eyes are ok…I had a jalapeno incident once. Ah, the things we do to ourselves while cooking. LOL.

    Like

  4. You give me heart…I’ve been saying all over word press this week that I will give pumpkin pie a go this year, and your very candid review makes me think I can do it. I think yours looks great, and if the flavour is right then I’m sold!

    Like

  5. I can’t see anything wrong with your pie! In my opinion, it looks great and I’d devour it within a few minutes (really, I swear :D). I have never tried making a pumpkin pie and I admire you for making your own and so beautiful pie!

    Like

  6. Courtney, most likely you were the only one who knew there were imperfections in the pie. Sometimes those are the best tasting. My Grandmother used to say the ugly one is the best one. Keep trying they will get better, I promise! Hope you are having a great week end and thanks so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday.
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

    Like

Comments make me happy.

