Peppermint Mocha Cupcakes

You can’t celebrate a holiday without chocolate.

(At least not in my family.)

Thanksgiving, of course, was no exception.  Since I was in charge of our dessert dishes this year, I wanted to make one traditional dessert (pumpkin pie) and one that was something a little different, a little seasonal, and a whole lotta good.

And, since I am inevitably drawn to a mix of mint, chocolate, and coffee every winter, I thought this recipe sounded perfect.

(By the way, I fully blame my mom for my love of the mint mocha combination.  Ever since she gave me my first Frango Mint Mocha at Frederick & Nelson’s as a teenager, I have been hooked — and if you know what Frederick & Nelson’s is, you’re either from the great Northwest, or I am very impressed!)

The Recipes:

Peppermint Mocha Cupcakes, adapted from Bakers Royale

1 c all-purpose flour

1 c plus 2 T sugar

1/3 c plus 2 T unsweetened cocoa powder

1/2 t baking soda

1/4 t salt

1/2 c (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted and warm

2 large eggs

½ t peppermint extract

1 T instant coffee

1/2 c hot coffee

3/4 c chopped peppermint Andes

Heat oven to 350 degrees and line  wells of cupcake pan with cupcake liners.

Add flour, cocoa powder, sugar, baking soda, and salt in a blow and mix thoroughly to combine.  Add the butter, eggs, and peppermint extract and beat on medium speed for one minute.   Scrape the sides of the bowl and add the instant coffee and the hot coffee.  Beat for 20-30 seconds until the batter is smooth.  Fold in chopped peppermint Andes.  (The batter will be thin enough to pour.)

Fill about liners about 2/3 full.  Bake 18-22 minutes – just until a toothpick inserted into a few of the cupcakes comes out clean.  Set the pan on a rack to cool.

Peppermint Buttercream Frosting, adapted from tasteofhome.com

1/4 c butter, softened

2-1/4 c confectioners’ sugar

3/4 t peppermint extract

3 T 2% milk

In a large bowl, cream butter until light and fluffy.  Beat in the confectioners’ sugar, vanilla and enough milk to achieve desired consistency.

Frost the cupcakes when they are completely cool.  Store and serve at room temperature.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

Yeah, I think these might’ve been good.

Actually, I think they might’ve been exceptionally good.  At least in my humble opinion.

Let’s see how I got there…

Peppermint Andes Mints – not as easy to find as you might think, but so worth it.

The making of the batter was not exciting at all.  The only thing that threw me for a loop was that the batter was really, really thin.  I was worried I’d done something wrong, but it just happens to be a thin batter.

I used a small ladel to fill the cupcake liners, baked them for the allotted time, and…

these gorgeous beauties came out.  I love the little peeps of pink mint poking out.

After they cooled, I made my frosting.  Again, boring!  (What are we gonna do with me??)

I had a little fun playing with the frosting tips and figuring out what I wanted the tops to look like.

 In the end, though, it didn’t really matter how spectacular they looked, because, well, they were meant for some serious eating.

And we seriously ate them.

There was a wonderful balance of coffee, mint, and chocolate – and the texture was a perfect cupcake-lightness.

I think these were a great choice to enter the holiday season with.

And I’m pretty sure they’ll show up again.

(Holiday or not.)

Happy belated Thanksgiving, everyone!

18 thoughts on “Peppermint Mocha Cupcakes

  1. All were pretty, my favorite was the flour cupcake (more icing:) I’d forgotten about these Andes mints, I think we have or had them here in Canada.. and as for Frederick and Nelson’s haven’t heard of that one… but if they serve drinks like that they’re in my good books!

    Like

  2. These look so cute! I can’t manage to do any kind of frosting unless it’s smearing it on peanut butter style with a knife. 😉 I love how you decorated with the mint on top too.

    Like

  3. Woah woah woah, there’s such thing as Peppermint Andes Mints?! I had no idea. Since I’m not a chocolate fan, I’m not wild about the regular Andes, but I would looove these. Perfect topping to a perfect cupcake! x

    Like

  4. Pingback: Coconut Mocha Muffins « Misadventures in Cooking

  5. Hi Courtney,
    I just love the combination of flavor that you have in this recipe. We would really enjoy this cupcake. Hope you are having a great week end and thanks so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday.
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

    Like

  6. Pingback: Mint Chocolate Chip Cupcakes and a Birthday Recap « Misadventures in Cooking

Comments make me happy.

