Persimmon Spice Cookies

I did not want to give up on persimmons.

After my last foray into persimmon cooking, I had many people come quickly to the defense of this little-known fruit.  And I believed their descriptions of a delicious, mellow, mango-esque, apricot-ish fruit.

So, I decided to let my last two persimmons come to their full, ripe potential before trying to make anything with them.  This week, their time had come.

The Recipe:

Persimmon Spice Cookies, adapted from allrecipes.com

2 ripe persimmons, pureed

1 t baking soda

2 c all-purpose flour

1/2 t ground cinnamon

1/2 t ground cloves

1/2 t ground nutmeg

1/2 t salt

1 egg

1 c white sugar

1/2 c butter

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 degrees C).

Dissolve baking soda in persimmon pulp and set aside.

Sift flour, spices and salt together, set aside.

Cream together butter or margarine and sugar until fluffy, beat in egg and persimmon.  Stir in dry ingredients.

Drop by teaspoonfuls onto greased cookie sheet.  Bake for 15 minutes.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

Let’s start with pureeing a persimmon…not as easy as I was expecting.

As you can see, the color of the persimmons had gotten darker and the texture was much juicier.  I cut them into quarters, removing the small white center that was hard.  Then, using my fingers (a spoon didn’t work so great), I peeled off the skin and dropped them into my mini-prep.  This took a little longer than I was expecting.  (I learned later it’s best to freeze them overnight, let them come to room temperature, and then the peel should just slide off.)

After pureeing, you add the baking soda to the persimmon.  Be aware that this will partially solidify your mixture.  I was not aware of this, and pretty much freaked out when it came out in one big chunk.  (It did break up fine in the mixer.)

(Oh, and by the way, I used Hubs handy parchment paper trick for adding my dry ingredients, and again, it worked like a charm.)

Everything mixed up well – though I admit, I have weird cookie preferences and omitted the raisins and walnuts the were suggested in the original recipe.  If you like those add-ins, I would strongly encourage you to put them in.

I pulled them out after about 13 minutes because the edges were getting quite browned.  When we went to eat them, they were still a little doughy, so I’m thinking 15 minutes might’ve been better.

The cookies had a cake-like texture with a really fun spicy flavor.  I’m not sure I could pick out the persimmon flavor per se, but overall they were very delicious.  If I had to change anything, I would add something in the mix to give them a little more texture (duh, like the raisins or walnuts suggested).  I was thinking maybe dried cranberries would be good, and my good friend suggested perhaps some toffee pieces to give it a little unexpected kick.

Even though this wasn’t the recipe that spotlighted the persimmon flavor, it still was quite good.

But, I think there’s something else out there that will do them more justice.

Now I just have to find it – I’m not ready to give up yet.

16 thoughts on “Persimmon Spice Cookies

  1. I love reading your posts. You are so brave with your baking and cooking! I’ve yet to use persimmons, but want to give them a try. And even if the persimmon flavor doesn’t come through in the cookies…who could turn down a good cookie?! 🙂

    Like

  2. There are some fruits I have never tried.. fresh figs (shhh, I know!) and persimmons. I think you are entirely brave to take these little guys on and keep going after the baking soda made a big chunk. What I love best about your blogs is your sense of adventure, courage and the details you share so that I could try this and know exactly what to expect when making them:)

    Like

  3. so did you try a plain persimmon to see if you liked it alone? I still think that is the way to go with them:) The cookies looked good, they looked just like the ones I remember my grandma making!

    Like

  4. Well, I’m in a boat all on my own because I’ve never ever heard of persimmons. Hang about…I’m doing to google it incase it’s a language barrier…nope. Still at a loss. But a handy map showed me their not grown in Australia, which could be my problem. Are they like tomatoes?

    Like

  5. I think I need to give persimmons a try again…. my husband loves them but I didn’t really like the taste of them. But in cookie form… I loved them! I’ll have to see about stealing some persimmons from my husband and baking them up 🙂

    Like

Comments make me happy.

