Baked Persimmon Bites

Do you know what a persimmon is?

I’d seen them before, but had never actually had one until yesterday.  We got several in our CSA box this week, and neither Hubs nor I knew what to do with them.

Of course, being a type A, must-know-everything kinda person, I looked them up and found out that a persimmon is an autumn fruit – a “true berry” like a tomato.  Our’s were Fuyu persimmons, I learned.

Most websites suggested eating them raw, but I also wanted to prepare or cook them in some way.  One of my friends suggested topping them with some spices and baking them in oven.  Sounded good to me.

To start off, I sliced them up.

I loved the starburst shape in the middle and the yellow-orange coloring.  I did take a small taste, but it really didn’t seem to have much flavor.  I was hoping the baking would bring it out a bit.

Next, I out them on parchment on a baking sheet and added a little cinnamon and nutmeg.

I baked them at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes, or until the edges began to curl up.

We ate them warm – and they were still fairly chewy (not crunchy like I was expecting).  To be honest, they weren’t my favorite.  The only real flavor came from the spices, not from the fruit.

I later learned through a little more research, that you want them to be soft and juicy-ripe to get the real flavor.

I think I’m going to wait to use my other two.  Maybe try making a persimmon cookie or pudding – which are two popular ways that have been suggested to me.  Or just try them raw.  I’m not ready to give up on them yet.

Some people love them, and I hope, when they’re ready, we’ll love them, too.

12 thoughts on “Baked Persimmon Bites

  1. They are very pretty fruits 🙂 I’m not a huge fan of them either, though when I had them in cookies they were awesome! Can’t wait to see what you do with the rest of them!

    Like

  2. I love that despite the outcome, you still posted this. Not only will I not try and bake an unripe persimmon, but I’m going to feel better when I put up tomorrow’s post. 😉 Bummer that it wasn’t what you were hoping for, but I have no doubt you’ll find something that works with this little fruit. I can’t wait to see what it is! 🙂

    Like

  3. Dried persimmon looks pretty, and I expect it tastes phenomenal too! I’d never thought of doing it like that though, it’d probably never reach that stage in our house, I love it raw after being left on the counter to go really smooshy 🙂

    Like

  4. I was actually just given three persimmons the other day, and have absolutely no idea what to do with them. What perfect timing that we both have them at the same time! Maybe I’ll wait until mine ripen up a bit. I think you’re right, a cookie or pudding sounds like it would be delicious.

    Like

  5. You definitely have to wait until they are ripe, they can be really bitter and tasteless if not ripe. My aunt had a persimmon grove next to her house growing up so we ate them all the time! When ripe they are super sweet and have lots of flavor. But it can take awhile for them to ripen. Anxious to see what you do with them next!

    Like

  6. I am on the contrary, I always eat them raw and they taste good 🙂
    Wait for their season; or get those from Korea and China (well, they are mostly from China anyway) and they taste sweet! Yes, do wait until they are ripe and slightly soft 😉
    This is my first time hearing about baked persimmon..looks cute!;)

    Like

Comments make me happy.

