Chocolate Crackle Cookies

Halloween is not a good holiday at our house.

Mostly because Hubs and I have no self-control when it comes to candy.  We’ve learned over the years to wait until the very last minute to buy our candy – and to buy a kind we typically wouldn’t eat (aka NO chocolate).

It usually works well, and this year was no exception.

But as I prepped to give out our candy, I realized I really missed the chocolate.

And, since I knew my four-year old would not be up for sharing this year, I needed to make something myself.  I didn’t need a lot, just a bit to give me that traditional sweet I was hoping for.

So I started searching for chocolate cookie recipes that had the ingredients we had on hand – and I was lucky enough to find this one.

The Recipe:

Chocolate Crinkle Cookies, adapted from Williams-Sonoma.com

8 T (1 stick) unsalted butter, at room temperature

1 1/4 c sugar

2 eggs

1/2 t vanilla extract

1 2/3 c all-purpose flour

1/2 c unsweetened cocoa powder

1 1/2 t baking powder

1/4 t salt

1/2 c powdered sugar

Preheat an oven to 350°F.  Generously grease 2 baking sheets with cooking spray or butter.

In a large bowl, using an electric mixer or stand mixer, beat the butter and sugar on medium speed until creamy, about 3 minutes.  Add 1 egg and beat on medium speed until blended.  Add the other egg and vanilla and beat until blended.

In another bowl, stir together the flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt.  Add the flour mixture to the wet one.  Beat on low-speed just until blended.

Using a tablespoon, scoop up a rounded spoonful of dough.  Roll the dough into a ball and then into a small bowl of powdered sugar until covered.  Place the balls on the prepared baking sheet, spacing the balls about 2 inches apart.

Bake 10 to 12 minutes, or until the cookies are puffed and crackled.  Let cool on wire rack.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

When I was looking for a recipe, my only requirements were something with chocolate and something where we had all the ingredients.  So, when I saw the ingredients list for this one, I knew I was set.

I did fail to notice that the recipe comes from a cookbook for kids.  The first line of instructions gave it away, though: “Before you start, be sure an adult is nearby to help.”  Hah!  I about died.

But it didn’t stop me.  (Oh, and yes, I adulted-up the recipe above for you all – as you probably don’t need reminders about using oven mitts or the right types of spatulas.)

The dough thickened up really fast, so be aware of that when you mix in the dry ingredients.  (It was a really tasty dough, though, for those of us who enjoy dark chocolate.  And yes, Geni, I did use the good cocoa powder this time.)

I would also suggest sifting your powdered sugar before rolling the dough in it – I didn’t, so I ended up with some clumpy areas on my cookies.  Not a big deal, but just not as pretty.

They crackled up pretty nicely – though the crackles looked much better right after they came out of the oven.

The taste, however, was absolutely perfect.

The dark chocolate-y cookie with a sprinkle of sweet powdered sugar was delicious.  The texture was great, too – a little barely-crunch on the outside with a soft chewy inside.  So good – and exactly what I was looking for to hit my chocolate spot.

And I can be proud to say that I did NOT mess up a kids recipe.  Yay for me!

These were a perfect adult Halloween treat because I didn’t miss the candy at all.

Hope your Halloween was treat-filled, too!

13 thoughts on “Chocolate Crackle Cookies

  1. I have absolutely no self-control when it comes to candy either. Especially those new Snickers with peanut butter. Oh.my.God. Anyways, even though I’m not a huge chocolate fan, these cookies look great!

    Like

  2. Do you believe that I have NEVER made a chocolate crackle cookie?! I should be ashamed of myself. Yours look fabulous. I love the idea of a slightly crispy chocolatey cookie dusted in powdered sugar. Maybe one of these days you are going to come to terms with the fact that you are now a great cook and baker and you will stop being surprised when things turn out deliciously. Instead, you will think, “Yeah, that’s right, another awesome recipe from Courtney!”

    Like

  3. I love that this was a kids’ recipe! That is too funny. I’m with you on the candy – for me it’s the sugary things like Nerds and SweetTarts. My poor teeth. Fortunately, Mike bought mostly chocolate candy this year. (Good for me – not so good for him. LOL) The next time my kids ask for chocolate cookies, I’m going to whip this one up for them. They would love the powdered sugar!

    Like

  4. Hi Courtney,
    I love the finished look of these cookies, I look forward to tasting them, soon I hope. Thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday and come back soon!
    Miz Helen

    Like

  5. Haha – we have the same problem with Halloween candy. DANGEROUS! Love your cookies. I made similar ones last week, but they were chocolate with espresso powder. I only made one batch which was 12 cookies. Good thing, they were way too yummy.

    🙂
    ButterYum

    Like

Comments make me happy.

