Sweet and Tangy Pork Chops

The weather here has taken a definite turn towards fall.

Sunny days are much fewer and far between (plus it’s getting dark at night much, much earlier), so I wanted to make this grilling recipe before I wouldn’t be able to anymore — or at least before I’d have a ton of excuses why I couldn’t.

I’d had such success with the Neely’s Honey Orange BBQ Chicken recipe, so I was looking forward to trying another one of their easy, saucy, grill recipes.

The Recipe:

Grilled Sweet and Tangy Pork Chops, from The Neely’s on foodnetwork.com

4 (1 1/2-inch thick) center cut bone in pork chops

Neely’s Seasoning Salt:

  • 2 T kosher salt
  • 1 T onion powder
  • 1 t freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 t garlic powder
  • 1/4 t celery seed
  • 1/4 t cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 t smoked paprika

Sweet and Tangy Glaze:

  • 1/4 c apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 c tablespoon real maple syrup
  • 2 T ketchup
  • 2 T Dijon mustard
  • 1 dash Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 dash hot pepper sauce
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

Preheat the grill to medium-high heat.

Season the pork chops lightly on both sides with the Seasoning Salt. Remember, we aren’t rubbing the chops.

Grill the chops for 5 to 7 minutes per side. Brush them with the Sweet and Tangy Glaze the last 5 minutes of grilling. Internal temperature should register 145 degrees F on an instant-read thermometer. Remove the chops from the grill to a serving platter and allow them to rest for 5 minutes before serving.

{Printable Recipe}

The Results:

I’m not gonna lie, I might have skimmed again (assuming it was so easy, there was no room for a mistake).

And that might have caused me to, um, rub the pork (insert 13 year-old boy snicker) with the Seasoning Salt – as opposed to just sprinkling it on lightly as it specifically says in the recipe.  That may have made the chops a tad bit salty.

Looking at this picture, and all the Seasoning Salt, I relive my mistake once again.

There was some good news, though.

1.  Hubs’ piece was less salted, so you really got a chance to enjoy the sweet and tangy glaze.  And it was really good!

2.  This is what I served with the delectable quinoa I made, so I still call the meal a success.  (And this might possibly explain why I had 4 servings of the quinoa – besides how tasty it was.)

The final verdict – I would definitely make this again, following the directions much more closely.  It had the potential to be a really good pork chop.

If only I hadn’t messed up.

Live and learn.  (I hope!)

11 thoughts on “Sweet and Tangy Pork Chops

  1. LOL! I would totally do that. I easily misread steps, miss steps all together, and forget ingredients all the time! It sounds like these were pretty salvageable though. 🙂 They sure look good to me! I love the mix of flavors – sweet and tangy is always tops in my book.

    Like

  2. The chop looks fantastic and the quinoa as well. I really want to try you quinoa recipe. Love the addition of beans. I’ve been gone for a few days and totally away from electronic devices…oh my….I have a lot of catching up to do on reading my favorite blogs! Happy Halloween Courtney!

    Like

  3. I have the Neely’s cookbook, but haven’t used it yet. Glad to know you’ve tried a couple of their recipes and have liked them. These chops look really, really, really good.

    🙂
    ButterYum

    Like

Comments make me happy.

